5 Books to read if you love The Crown

photo via Netflix

We can’t help but love jumping back in time to the 1900s when the lives of queens and kings were complicated and dramatic and the political rivalries were fierce. For anyone who loves the compelling story lines of The Crown, these books will give you more royal families to fall in love with.

Victoria & Abdul by Shrabani Basu

Victoria & Abdul by Shrabani Basu

Now a major motion picture, Victoria & Abdul tells the story of one very unlikely friendship between a queen and her trusted companion. From servant to a powerful leader in her court, Abdul became an important figure much to the royal household’s disliking during a time when the aging and heartbroken Queen Victoria needed someone to trust and confide in.

The Accidental Empress by Allison Pataki

The Accidental Empress by Allison Pataki

In this New York Times bestseller, Elisabeth, duchess of Bavaria, can’t help but fall in love with the wrong man. After winning the heart of her sister’s future groom, Elisabeth and Emperor Franz Joseph will upset the politics behind one of the most fascinating royal families in history in order to preserve the true love they have found in each other.

The Royal Nanny by Karen Harper

The Royal Nanny by Karen Harper

Perfect for anyone intrigued by royal families, this intricate weaving of fact and fiction dives into the life of one nanny who finds a way to care for a group of royal children the way their parents never could. Watching them grow up, Charlotte Bill will witness the making of kings, one lost prince and the ups and downs of aristocracy.

One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake

One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake

As their fight for the crown continues, three sisters have begun to come into their powers and the sister everyone thought was rising above the others will begin to fall. With plenty of danger and thrill, this New York Times bestseller includes all the intrigue of a royal family plus a little magic and a lot of intriguing deception.

Victoria by Daisy Goodwin

Victoria by Daisy Goodwin

When eighteen-year-old Alexandrina Victoria is suddenly crowned Queen of England, the men in her court question whether or not she will be an adequate ruler. Proving them all wrong, the young queen refuses to be anyone’s puppet and takes matters into her own hands. Based on the queen’s diaries, this novel gives a new and intimate view into the life of a woman who would go onto reign for 63 years.

Ashley Johnson

Editor

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or reviewing the newest liquid lipstick formula on her YouTube channel.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading this winter break!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.