5 Chilling books for fans of Stephen King

There’s no doubt that Stephen King is the master of all things horror. With the release of the latest movie adaptation of his novel It now in theatres, we’re reminiscing on some horror novels we can’t get enough of – the perfect books for fans of Stephen King.

Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage

A crossover between Gone Girl and The Omen? Count us in. Zoje Stage’s debut novel tells the horrific story of Hanna, a young girl with a twisted mind. Hanna adores her father and dreams of the two of them without her mother. As her mental state begins to darken, Hannah will pull out all the stops to make sure that she gets rid of her mom. Suzette must find a way to control her daughter before she ruins the family forever.


Dead on Arrival by Kiki Swinson

Reese and Dawn are doing everything they can to stay afloat as they struggle with a gambling addiction and infertility. When a friend promises the two a prosperous future in return for help on a project he claims is safe, the couple will find themselves in serious trouble. Participating in illegal human smuggling, Reese and Dawn will realize that their side job isn’t as easy – or as safe – as their friend had initially promised.


Lake Silence by Anne Bishop

In a world where supernatural creatures exist alongside humans, one resort owner will learn that paranormal monsters don’t abide by predetermined human laws. Being pinned for a murder she didn’t and couldn’t have committed, Vicki DeVine must figure out who (or what) the real killer is before the magical forces at work destroy her world forever. Set in Bishop’s world of the Others, Lake Silence is the perfect read for fans of dark fantasy.


The Hunger by Alma Katsu

Katsu’s new supernatural thriller, The Hunger, will take you back to the days of covered wagons and Westward Expansion. As the Donner Party makes their way through the West, they fear that something evil is following them. When members of their group begin to disappear, the others are left to question what kind of dangerous entity is taking them out, who will be taken next and where their journey is really leading them.


The Terror by Dan Simmons

Now a major TV show on AMC, The Terror is a book that Stephen King could not put down. The crew on the HMS Terror hoped to find the Northwest Passage but instead, they stumble upon something sinister and deadly. When the expedition leader meets a horrific death, it’s up to Captain Francis Crozier to lead his men to safety. Battling frigid weather and lurking predators, will the crew reach safety or turn on one another?

Ashley Johnson

Content Editor + Producer

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or exploring breathtaking locations throughout the US.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.