6 Chilling books for fans of Stephen King

There’s no doubt that Stephen King is the master of all things horror. With all the buzz around his latest adaptation The Outsider, we’re reminiscing on some horrific and thrilling novels we can’t get enough of – the perfect books for fans of Stephen King.

The Dark Corners of the Night by Meg Gardiner

The Midnight Man is terrorizing Los Angeles, killing the parents of children but leaving the young ones to live with new horrific memories of losing the people they love most. With this brazen killer on the loose, FBI behavior analyst Caitlin Hendrix arrives in Los Angeles to help solve the case. But it doesn’t take long before Caitilin realizes that this serial killer is different from the others she has chased before. As she struggles to keep her personal life from falling apart and keep the case on track, she must come to terms with what she’s willing to do to catch this monstrous killer.


Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage

A crossover between Gone Girl and The Omen? Count us in. Zoje Stage’s debut novel tells the horrific story of Hanna, a young girl with a twisted mind. Hanna adores her father and dreams of the two of them without her mother. As her mental state begins to darken, Hannah will pull out all the stops to make sure that she gets rid of her mom. Suzette must find a way to control her daughter before she ruins the family forever.


Dead on Arrival by Kiki Swinson

Reese and Dawn are doing everything they can to stay afloat as they struggle with a gambling addiction and infertility. When a friend promises the two a prosperous future in return for help on a project he claims is safe, the couple will find themselves in serious trouble. Participating in illegal human smuggling, Reese and Dawn will realize that their side job isn’t as easy – or as safe – as their friend had initially promised.


Lake Silence by Anne Bishop

In a world where supernatural creatures exist alongside humans, one resort owner will learn that paranormal monsters don’t abide by predetermined human laws. Being pinned for a murder she didn’t and couldn’t have committed, Vicki DeVine must figure out who (or what) the real killer is before the magical forces at work destroy her world forever. Set in Bishop’s world of the Others, Lake Silence is the perfect read for fans of dark fantasy.


The Hunger by Alma Katsu

Katsu’s new supernatural thriller, The Hunger, will take you back to the days of covered wagons and Westward Expansion. As the Donner Party makes their way through the West, they fear that something evil is following them. When members of their group begin to disappear, the others are left to question what kind of dangerous entity is taking them out, who will be taken next and where their journey is really leading them.


The Terror by Dan Simmons

Now a major TV show on AMC, The Terror is a book that Stephen King could not put down. The crew on the HMS Terror hoped to find the Northwest Passage but instead, they stumble upon something sinister and deadly. When the expedition leader meets a horrific death, it’s up to Captain Francis Crozier to lead his men to safety. Battling frigid weather and lurking predators, will the crew reach safety or turn on one another?

Ashley Johnson

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or exploring breathtaking locations throughout the US.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Looking for a new book to read, huh?

This She Reads-approved book subscription box will keep you reading all year-long.