Books to read if you loved The Girl on the Train

Books to read if you love the girl on the train

original image via shutterstock

First the wildly popular novel, then the movie adaptation that gave us chills. The success of The Girl on the Train really reignited our love of the thriller genre. As we anxiously await her next release, try one of these suspense novels to help you get over your Paula Hawkins withdrawals.

Good Me Bad Me by Ali Land

Good Me Bad Me by Ali Land

When your mom is a serial killer, you cross your fingers that she didn’t pass her murderous genes down to you. In this international bestseller, we follow Milly into her new life with an equally as complicated family as she prepares to testify against her mother and embrace who she really is – whether that be good or evil.

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

One innocent dinner party at a neighbor’s house turns into every parent’s worst nightmare as a baby is abducted from its crib. When investigators arrive, carefully constructed secrets begin coming to light, proving that this may not have been as random an act as the neighborhood may think.

The Kept Woman by Karin Slaughter

The Kept Woman by Karin Slaughter

Will Trent knows the discovery of a murder on a wealthy athlete’s abandoned property means trouble but the details aren’t adding up. As he discovers there is another brutally harmed victim out there and troubling evidence arises, Will has a lot more on his plate than he ever expected.

Closer Than You Know by Brad Parks

Melanie has learned a lot about turmoil through growing up in the foster system. Luckily, that is all behind her now that she is happily married and the mother to a perfect baby boy, Alex. Until one day Alex is seized by Social Services and the Sheriff has found enough cocaine in her house to put her in jail for years. Now she must figure out how to clear her name while confronting demons from her past.

All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

Nicolette thought she’d never know the truth about her best friend’s disappearance – until one fateful trip back to the town where the tragedy occurred. Ten years later, Nic is finally met with realities about her seemingly innocent friends when another young girl vanishes without a trace.

The New Neighbors by Simon Lelic

The New Neighbors by Simon Lelic

Jack and Syd couldn’t imagine finding a more perfect home for them in London until mysterious findings are discovered and the neighbors begin to cause anxiety among the young couple. When a murder is committed in their backyard the two will learn that keeping secrets from each other will be their biggest downfall.

The Absence of Evelyn by Jackie Townsend

The Absence of Evelyn by Jackie Townsend

The lives of four separate people are linked by an irrevocable fate in The Absence of Evelyn. On a mission to find the last man Evelyn loved, Rhonda is met with a world’s worth of confusion surrounding her adopted daughter and the mysterious disappearance of Marco.

Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

A river with a history of claiming women takes its next victim in Hawkins’s #1 New York Times bestseller. Now that her mother has been found dead, fifteen-year-old Lena must move in with her aunt and live with the fact that the suicide of her best friend may be connected to her mother’s drowning.

Ashley Johnson

Editor & Producer

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or exploring breathtaking locations throughout the US.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading this winter break!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.