With lyrical lines and imperfect rhyme patterns, Rupi Kaur’s bestselling and highly influential debut put the poetry bug in readers. We highly recommend curling up with one of these 10 books like Milk and Honey.

Pillow Thoughts by Courtney Peppernell

This poetry collection has a section for each individual emotion. Poetry about loss, love, self-help and relationships, Courtney Peppernell’s short read is the perfect companion to Rupi Kaur’s Milk and Honey.


Sunflower Soul by Distinee Gayle

In Sunflower Soul, poet Distinee Gayle pursues themes of heartbreak, love and identity. Written with rich imagery, Gayle finds details in nature that speaks to both the pain and beauty sowed in our lives. With this book, the poet intends to create a garden of love for our souls, as she portrays the struggle and growth that comes from breaking free of the lie that we are not worthy of love.

When the World Didn’t End by Caroline Kaufman

Instagram poet Caroline Kaufman’s second poetry collection brings beauty and light to the most difficult parts of life. Finding joy in the world after fighting depression, walking into an unknown future and the moments when we find ourselves most vulnerable are all brought to the forefront in When the World Didn’t End, making for a timely and authentic poetry read about what it means to be human.


Adultolescence by Gabbie Hanna

This diverse collection of work from YouTube sensation “The Gabbie Show,” takes readers through her ascension into adulthood and all the trials and tribulations along the way. From sing song-y lyrical poems to refined confessional-type pieces, the journey Gabbie takes readers on is one of extreme relevance and honesty.


Depression & Other Magic Tricks by Sabrina Benaim

Normally as a performance poet, Sabrina Benaim’s debut book celebrates the everyday struggles and triumphs of life and highlights the reality of family, mental illness and love. Described as making people feel like they had a friend in this world, Depression & Other Magic Tricks is a highly-influential read for those who can’t always see the light at the end of the tunnel.


Her by Pierre Alex Jeanty

This book full of poetry and prose celebrates women, their strengths and their undeniable beauty. For all the hopeless romantics this is a must-read with plenty of earnest emotion and beautiful lyric. If you’re looking for a little more love in your life (aren’t we all?), Her will be your new favorite read.


Words That Kill by Vivid Vega

Vega’s collection of poetry focuses on rhyme scheme instead of the normal free verse form most poets employ. Split into three chapters and focusing on both pain and clarity, this book will inspire hope in readers who are in search of a relatable read.


Love Her Wild: Poems by Atticus

Love Her Wild is a collection of poems from Atticus, known as @atticuspoetry to his hundreds of thousands of Instagram followers. Atticus’ poems embody the complexity of life, with its heart-crushing lows and stunning highs. In just a few perfectly crafted lines, he is able to capture love and life honestly, beautifully and with striking style.


The Sun and Her Flowers by Rupi Kaur

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Milk and Honey, Rupi Kaur’s second book is an inspirational journey of self-discovery, growth and healing. Divided into five chapters and illustrated by Kaur, The Sun and Her Flowers is the book for anyone struggling to balance finding themselves and staying true to their roots.


Lavender (Remastered) by Christopher Poindexter

Christopher Poindexter captures the journey of self-discovery that comes with leaving the past behind and embracing the world. Through his poetry, he examines love and the beautiful intricacies that come with its many forms and phases.

(feature photo by @vanillandbliss)