8 Poetic reads like Milk and Honey

With lyrical lines and imperfect rhyme patterns, Rupi Kaur’s bestselling and highly influential debut put the poetry bug in readers. We highly recommend curling up with one (or all) of these poetry collections if you have already devoured her Milk and Honey and The Sun and Her Flowers collections.

Pillow Thoughts by Courtney Peppernell

Pillow Thoughts by Courtney Peppernell

This poetry collection has a section for each individual emotion. Poetry about loss, love, self-help and relationships, Courtney Peppernell’s short read is the perfect companion to Rupi Kaur’s Milk and Honey.

Adultolescence by Gabbie Hanna

Adultolescence by Gabbie Hanna

This diverse collection of work from YouTube sensation “The Gabbie Show,” takes readers through her ascension into adulthood and all the trials and tribulations along the way. From sing song-y lyrical poems to refined confessional-type pieces, the journey Gabbie takes readers on is one of extreme relevance and honesty.

Depression & Other Magic Tricks by Sabrina Benaim

Depression & Other Magic Tricks by Sabrina Benaim

Normally as a performance poet, Sabrina Benaim’s debut book celebrates the everyday struggles and triumphs of life and highlights the reality of family, mental illness and love. Described as making people feel like they had a friend in this world, Depression & Other Magic Tricks is a highly-influential read for those who can’t always see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Her by Pierre Alex Jeanty

Her by Pierre Alex Jeanty

This book full of poetry and prose celebrates women, their strengths and their undeniable beauty. For all the hopeless romantics this is a must-read with plenty of earnest emotion and beautiful lyric. If you’re looking for a little more love in your life (aren’t we all?), Her will be your new favorite read.

Words That Kill by Vivid Vega

Words That Kill by Vivid Vega

Vega’s collection of poetry focuses on rhyme scheme instead of the normal free verse form most poets employ. Split into three chapters and focusing on both pain and clarity, this book will inspire hope in readers who are in search of a relatable read.

Love Her Wild: Poems by Atticus

Love Her Wild is a collection of poems from Atticus, known as @atticuspoetry to his hundreds of thousands of Instagram followers. Atticus’ poems embody the complexity of life, with its heart-crushing lows and stunning highs. In just a few perfectly crafted lines, he is able to capture love and life honestly, beautifully and with striking style.

The Sun and Her Flowers by Rupi Kaur

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Milk and Honey, Rupi Kaur’s second book is an inspirational journey of self-discovery, growth and healing. Divided into five chapters and illustrated by Kaur, The Sun and Her Flowers is the book for anyone struggling to balance finding themselves and staying true to their roots.

Lavender (Remastered) by Christopher Poindexter

Christopher Poindexter captures the journey of self-discovery that comes with leaving the past behind and embracing the world. Through his poetry he examines love and the beautiful intricacies that come with its many forms and phases.

(feature photo by @vanillandbliss)

Ashley Johnson

Editor

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or reviewing the newest liquid lipstick formula on her YouTube channel.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading at the beach this summer!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.