Books to read after The Rules of Magic

Books to read after the Book of Magic

photo by @rebella_reads

If you’ve ever wished you had magical powers, these books will make you envious all over again. Keeping up with the complicated family ties and relationships of The Rules of Magic, you’ll find that these enchanting stories will be very hard to put down.

the lying game by ruth ware

The Lying Game by Ruth Ware

This New York Times bestselling author’s newest novel focuses on one very devious group of women and their lying games. When Kate comes across something sinister while walking her dog, the first thing she does is text her former high school clique. Together they will dive into their past mysteries and the problems that still threaten their perfect worlds.

A Secret History of Witches by Louisa Morgan

Five generations of powerful witches have kept the world balanced with their often dangerous magic and just when they think their powers are fading, a new lineage begins with one young girl. With World War II looming, the witches must work together with their magic, both new and old, to save the world and change history forever.

The Last Days of Magic by Mark Tompkins

Magic has left the world and Aisling and Jordan are stubborn in their quest to find out why. In a place where humans and magical creatures once lived harmoniously, a new tyrant has made it his job to get rid of anything resembling magic as war threatens the fragile state of the world for both the current generation and generations to come.

the cottingley secret by Hazel Gaynor

The Cottingley Secret by Hazel Gaynor

Olivia Kavanagh has never believed in fairies but when she comes across the story of two young girls and their discovery that rocked the world, she starts drawing parallels between her life and theirs. Finding a way to believe in the otherwise unbelievable, Olivia begins to think that having faith in herself can be possible too.

What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours by Helen Oyeyemi

What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours by Helen Oyeyemi

A book full of intertwining and stand-alone stories about keys and the doors they open, Oyeyemi explores different settings of time and place and the influence of magical realism on our own realities. This fantastical read will keep you on your toes and leave you with plenty to think about after the last page has been read.

the witches of new york by Ami McKay

The Witches of New York by Ami McKay

This international bestseller introduces a magical New York where the most ordinary of people experiment with magic and the powers of the mystical world. When seventeen-year-old Beatrice enters the community, she has no idea what awaits her. Through the guidance of Adelaide and Eleanor, Beatrice will learn to harness her powers before they put her in danger.

Ashley Johnson

Content Editor + Producer

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or exploring breathtaking locations throughout the US.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.