6 Books to read after What Happened

Using What Happened as an outlet to confess her innermost thoughts during the 2016 presidential election that rocked the world, Hillary Clinton’s candid book highlights the ups and downs of the political sphere and our future as a nation. If you’re looking for further insight into the United States from a few influential voices, look no further than this list.

unbelievable by Katy Tur

Unbelievable: My Front-Row Seat to the Craziest Campaign in American History by Katy Tur

Committed to documenting President Donald Trump’s presidential campaign from start to finish, NBC news correspondent Katy Tur spent 500 days front and center to the most controversial campaign in history. One reporter’s quest to find out the truth behind the crazy event that turned into one of the most talked about elections in the world.

promise me, dad by Joe Biden

Promise Me, Dad by Joe Biden

Former Vice President Joe Biden takes readers into the intimate details of his family life and the heartbreaking loss of their son Beau in this memoir. Unable to let the tragedy keep him from work and supporting the country, Biden had to rely on the support of his family, faith and President Barack Obama to get him through a time of mourning in order to learn just how precious life is.

playing with fire by lawrence o'donnell

Playing with Fire by Lawrence O’Donnell

Although not rooted in the 2016 election, Playing With Fire cites an election with arguably as much drama and surprising twists and turns. Based on Lawrence O’Donnell’s master class in American electioneering, this book documents America at a time when everything seemed to be falling apart.

what unites us by Dan Rather

What Unites Us by Dan Rather and Elliot Kirschner

During times of divide in the country, Dan Rather finds passion in writing about what it really means to be an American in our current world. Looking into the freedoms and values that have formed the United States, What Unites Us offers a unique view of history after living through an era of great historical change.

WE WERE EIGHT YEARS IN POWER by Ta-Nehisi

We Were Eight Years in Power by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Ta-Nehisi Coates’ collection of essays digs into the president’s crusade for equality and the steps made toward change during the Obama administration. From writing in an unemployment office in Harlem to interviewing the president himself, the evolution of this writer and his commentary on politics is a unique take on political criticism books you may have read before.

chasing light by Amanda Lucidon

Chasing Light by Amanda Lucidon

White House photographer Amanda Lucidon spent four years with former First lady Michelle Obama, capturing a rare insider’s view of the woman who made it her job to promote girls’ education, fight against the rise in childhood obesity and be a support for military families. With added narrative pieces, this book brings to light the little things that made Mrs. Obama so memorable.

Ashley Johnson

Editor

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or reviewing the newest liquid lipstick formula on her YouTube channel.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading at the beach this summer!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.