The best thrillers of 2019

There’s no question that 2019 was a year jam-packed with thrillers that kept you on the edge of your seat. From debuts to new releases by bestselling authors, there were plenty of suspenseful novels to go around. These are the best thrillers of 2019.

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

No one ever assumed there was anything wrong in Alicia Berenson’s life… until she shot her husband in the face five times. She hasn’t spoken a word since the crime and now spends her days silent in a locked facility. But everything changes when criminal psychotherapist Theo Faber takes on her case, determined to get her to speak to him. Through intense sessions and a lot of digging, Theo gets to the shocking truth Alicia has been hiding for years.

Pick up a copy of The Silent Patient now when you sign up for Book of the Month!*


Lock Every Door by Riley Sager

When Jules Larsen takes a job as an apartment sitter at the famous Bartholomew, she doesn’t care about the intense rules because she’s in desperate need of a roof over her head. But not everything’s as it seems and just as fast as she makes a new friend in fellow apartment sitter Ingrid, the girl disappears. When Jules tries to track her down, she learns the dark side of the Bartholomew and the extreme danger she’s in.


My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing

This instant #1 international bestseller centers around an unconventional couple. Perfect for fans of Dexter, Samantha Downing’s debut details the lives of a married couple who keeps their relationship interesting by murdering people and getting away with it. A truly unique read, this book was on everyone’s #TBR in 2019.


The Whisper Man by Alex North

Another breakout debut from Celadon Books, The Whisper Man gave readers everywhere the chills this year. Set in the small town of Featherbank, this thrilling novel tells the story of “The Whisper Man,” a serial killer who once abducted and murdered children from the town. Once the culprit is behind bars, everyone in Featherbank can rest easy again… until another boy goes missing two decades later. In the midst of all of this, Tom Kennedy and his son Jake move to the town in the hopes of a fresh start but instead, find themselves at the center of a true nightmare.


The Turn of the Key by Ruth Ware

Rowan Caine stumbles across an ad for a live-in nanny that looks too good to be true. She takes the job and relocates to the Scottish Highlands as soon as it’s offered to her. But the job will turn out to be nothing like she expected when one of the children is found dead and she’s charged for the murder. Rowan knows she is not guilty and through a series of letters to her attorney, she tries to prove her innocence.


The Family Upstairs by Lisa Jewell

When Libby Jones turns 25, she learns more about her biological parents and the fact that she is to inherit an abandoned mansion on the banks of the Thames in London. Excited at the prospect of owning this new home, she knows her life is about to completely change. What she doesn’t know, however, is that the home was the site of a gruesome incident 25 years before and her arrival will spark a new nightmare she never saw coming.


Miracle Creek by Angie Kim

In Virginia, a group of people are linked together due to their participation in a hyperbaric chamber that has been said to cure everything from autism to infertility. But when the chamber explodes, leaving two people dead, it becomes painfully obvious that it wasn’t just an accident. Now, everyone involved will be questioned about the event as they try to get to the bottom of the motive behind the killings.


The Suspect by Fiona Barton

Two 18-year-old girls have just gone missing in Thailand. Journalist Kate Waters works to uncover what happened to the two girls as she continues to worry about her own son who left to go travel two years ago and hasn’t contacted her since.


The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald

Abi Knight’s world comes to a screeching halt when she learns her daughter has fallen off a bridge, and when she gets to the hospital she is shocked to find out her daughter is both braindead and pregnant. But the most curious is that Olivia has bruises around her wrists, signaling to Abi that the fall was not an accident. Unsatisfied with the answers authorities are giving her, she does her best to learn the heartbreaking truth of what really happened to her daughter the night she fell.


American Spy by Lauren Wilkinson

During the Cold War, intelligence officer for the FBI, Marie Mitchell feels like she can’t catch a break in her career. Unhappy with her future, she’s eager to take up a new role when it’s offered to her. Joining a task force aimed at bringing down revolutionary president and United States target Thomas Sankara, she’s excited to carve out a place for herself. Over the next few years, she works her way into Sankara’s inner circle and leads the charge in bringing him down once and for all.

*Disclosure: The links above are affiliate links. These picks are editorially selected, but if you purchase, She Reads may get something in return. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. 

*Disclosure: The Book of the Month link above is an affiliate link. If you purchase a subscription, She Reads will receive a return of the profit.

Ashley Johnson

Content Editor + Producer

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or exploring breathtaking locations throughout the US.

1 Comment
  1. I tend to devour books during the winter months so I am always looking for something new. I recently finished an awesome psychological suspense/coming of age story by Mark Tullius called “Ain’t No Messiah” (https://www.marktullius.com/). This is a fairly dark read but the author mixes in comedy, elements of hope, and some really unique concepts to make this one of my favorite reads of 2019. The main concept of the novel is fairly relatable; Joshua is trying to find himself and to find happiness. However, Joshua has grown up in an abusive household, is the member of a cult-like church, and his father & fellow church members believe Joshua is the second coming of Jesus Christ. This is a story that definitely makes you think and keeps you hooked from start to finish. I can’t recommend it enough.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.