What she reads if she loves Annabelle

books like annabelle

As a young girl, I used to read all the horror – John Saul and Stephen King were top of the list. But now, horror books and movies scare the daylights out of me. And as I was researching Annabelle for this book roundup, I watched the trailer, and OMG, it was frightening! If you like heart-stopping horror, then you’ll love these books we have curated for you. Here are seven books like Annabelle if you’re looking for a good horror story.

Suffer the Children by John Saul

I read this book when I was probably 13 or 14 years old and still remember the feelings of fear it evoked in me. In Port Arbello, a little girl dies at the hands of a guilty man so he throws himself into the sea which spurs a series of terrifying events. One hundred years later, children begin disappearing, and the evil is back in Port Arbello.


The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty

I’m pretty sure everyone remembers either this book or the movie from way back when, and you can probably conjure up an image of 11-year-old Regan being possessed by the devil and climbing her bedroom walls. You might even remember her head spinning and some pea-soup-like vomit being spewed. Not familiar? Well now’s your chance to immerse yourself in one of the biggest horror stories of all time.


The Amityville Horror by Jay Anson

When the Lutz family moved into their home, they knew the history behind the doors. A young man had murdered his whole family in the rooms where they would now live. But, the house was beautiful and the price too good not to buy. Noted as a ‘true story,’ the Lutz family endures horror and nightmares beyond belief until they leave the house less than a month later. Check out The Amityville Horror and decide for yourself whether this story is true horror or something different.


The Real Amityville Horror: The True Story Behind The Brutal DeFeo Murders by Frances J. Armstrong

After you read The Amityville Horror, read the true story about Ronald “Butch” DeFeo Jr. and the murders that took place in his home. The Amityville Horror has gone down in history as pop culture and true crime, and the case continues to enthrall horror aficionados all these years later.


The Ravenous by Amy Lukavics

While Amy is a young adult author, her books are very horror-driven! Take, for instance, The Ravenous, a story about a family of sisters and a neglectful mother. The youngest daughter Rose dies, and her sisters are at a loss. When Rose is resurrected, the sisters realize she can only stay alive by eating human flesh. After their mother abandons the family, it’s up to the sisters to make sure they don’t lose Rose. And they will do anything to stay together. Anything.

If you’re new to Amy’s books and want more horror, check out The Women in the Walls, Daughters Unto Devils and Nightingale as well.


The Doll by J.C. Martin

When Joyce and her daughter visit the Island of the Dolls, a place in Mexico where old dolls are displayed in trees as decoration, the young girl becomes attached to one of the dolls. When her daughter’s personality starts to change, Joyce looks into the history of the doll and discovers something very sinister.


Carrie by Stephen King

Who are we kidding? If you want horror, read anything by this mastermind of horror fiction! But start off with Carrie, his debut book, which, by the way, he had tossed in the garbage only to have his wife dig it out and make him submit it to publishers. Good thing, or else the world would be without the horror of Stephen King. Carrie is about a high school girl who has a gift of being able to move things with her mind. After being bullied relentlessly by her classmates, she puts her ‘gift’ into actions that will have destructive consequences.

*Disclosure: The links above are affiliate links. These picks are editorially selected, but if you purchase, She Reads may get something in return. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. 

Stephanie Elliot

Stephanie Elliot writes for a variety of websites and magazines on topics such as parenting, mental health issues, relationships, and of course, books. She is an editor and book reviewer. Stephanie is also the author of the young adult novel, Sad Perfect, which was inspired by her own daughter’s journey with ARFID, Avoidant/Restrictive Food Intake Disorder. She lives in Scottsdale, Arizona, with her husband and their three children. For more info, visit www.stephanieelliot.com.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.