What she reads if she loves Black-ish

What she reads if she loves blackish

photo by @traceeellisross

Black-ish is the primetime TV show we can’t get enough of. With its brilliant humor and real-life situations, we can’t help but want more. These books are our go-to when we need our fix.

The Mother of Black Hollywood by Jenifer Lewis

In her first memoir, the co-star of Black-ish reveals the dreams of a young midwestern girl and her climb to the top. Diving into her own struggles with bipolar and sex addiction, this honest look into Lewis’s life is an intimate portrayal of a real woman in the everchanging entertainment industry.  

Black Man in a White Coat by Damon Tweedy, M.D.

Black Man in a White Coat by Damon Tweedy M.D. 

Damon Tweedy never thought he would face discrimination in medical school but in his memoir, he explores the ways in which both black patients and doctors are treated differently. Seeing it from both a doctor’s point of view and a patient’s, Tweedy will discover the shocking truth about healthcare and the way race effects the way we give and receive treatment.

The Golden House by Salman Rushdie

When the mysterious Nero Golden and his family move into an idyllic community in Greenwich Village, the neighborhood can’t help but be intrigued. The three sons all have intricate pasts and hidden secrets and when neighbor René gets involved in their lives, he will find himself in the middle of their betrayals, crimes and infidelities.

Still Can't Do My Daughter's Hair by William Evans

Still Can’t Do My Daughter’s Hair by William Evans

Focused on his life as an African American man in the United States, Still Can’t Do My Daughter’s Hair tackles the difficulties he has faced and the trials and tribulations his family encountered years before. Brutally honest, this poetry collection is filled with memories from Evans’ childhood, bringing a revolutionary voice to the poetry world.

Shelves: TV
Ashley Johnson

Lead Editor

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or exploring breathtaking locations throughout the US.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.