What she reads if she loves Game of Thrones

game of thrones books

Sadly, plots of fire-breathing dragons, white walkers and fierce female rulers will not always exist in George R.R. Martin’s world of Westeros, but books of similar themes and characters will. While there may never be a queen as evil as Cersei Lannister, the villains in these novels will certainly give you something new to obsess over. If you’re highly anticipating the end of the series, you’ll love these books like Game of Thrones.

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

The battle for the crown continues as three sisters begin coming into their powers and lighting the world on fire around them. The second book in this New York Times bestselling trilogy is full of magic, royalty and suspense, reminiscent of that seen in Westeros.


A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

As one of the last Antari, Kell can send himself through parallel Londons and has made a dangerous hobby out of using his talents. When he crosses paths with Delilah, his entire vision of the world is turned upside down as the two fight to save all versions of their known world.


The Forsaken Throne by Jeff Wheeler

The Forbidden Court has been destroyed, but that is the least of Trynne Kiskaddon’s problems—his sister is back and out for blood. Trynne may have all her weapons to use against her in her plan for ultimate power, but a reunion between the siblings is destined and all bets are off as to who will take the crown.


The City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty

Nahri may not be magical, but her cons and schemes might as well be. Entering a magical world that she has always felt the allure of, her arrival sparks dangerous actions that could lead to a war only she will be able to stop as the fate of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom is put in her hands.


The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

Like Jon Snow and Ygritte, Kestrel and Arin shouldn’t be together. If they want to truly be together, they must abandon their lives without betraying each other. In their wicked world, this young couple will realize the true trials of love and secrets.


Beasts of Extraordinary Circumstance by Ruth Emmie Lang

Weylyn Grey has had anything but a normal childhood, but he didn’t know the depth of just how strange his life had come to be. As unexplained occurrences begin to unfold, Weylyn will find that he is different on several accounts; the boy who was raised by wolves has powers no one can explain.


A Treacherous Curse by Deanna Raybourn

Veronica Speedwell loves nothing more than a good adventure so when she gets the opportunity to join her colleague Stoker on a dangerous expedition, she can’t wait to begin. As the two embark on their journey, they’ll run into dangerous figures from Stoker’s past as they battle an ancient curse and fight to stay alive. This new novel in the Veronica Speedwell series seamlessly blends together magic and reality.

(Feature image courtesy of Wired)

Shelves: TV
Ashley Johnson

Lead Editor

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or exploring breathtaking locations throughout the US.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.