5 Books to feed your Harry Potter craving

photo by Usa-Pyon via shutterstock

The magic of Harry Potter will never die as fans all over the globe continuously applaud J.K. Rowling for all of her brilliant literary work. In the spirit of magic and world-building, we put together our favorite titles to keep you believing in the power of great books. Here are five books like Harry Potter. 

shadowshaper by Daniel Jose Older

Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older

Sierra Santiago thought she was going to enjoy a summer full of making art and catching up with friends. When paintings start crying actual tears, plans of a calm summer are out of the question. As Sierra begins to unearth an exciting form of magic, she realizes the shadows waiting for her on the other side are dark and sinister.

the leaf reader by Emily Arsenault

The Leaf Reader by Emily Arsenault

Marnie embraces her weirdness, taking up fortune telling as a young girl. When a seemingly innocent classmate asks for a reading, Marnie begins to realize that he may not be as guiltless as everyone had thought. As she gets closer to the truth, things turn dangerous and she can’t help but fall for the mysterious boy.

sorcerer to the crown by zen cho

Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho

All of England’s magic is drying up in Zen Cho’s fantasy debut. While sorcerer Zacharias Wythe is on a quest to find out where all the magic has gone, he meets an unexpected ally along the way. Just as Harry, Ron and Hermione had to save the world of wizardry, Zacharias has now been handed the same ill-fated journey.

jane, unlimited by kristin cashore

Jane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore

Mourning the disappearance of her aunt, Jane is at a loss when Kiran Thrash enters her life. When she is asked to accompany Kiran to her family’s island mansion called Tu Reviens, she remembers her aunt’s words and knows she must go. Arriving with a trunk full of umbrella parts, Jane is offered several choices that either come at a reward or a price in this New York Times instant bestseller.

the red sun by alane adams

The Red Sun by Alane Adams

Sam Baron’s life is turned upside down when he learns he is from a magical place called Orkney, and that his friends have been taken to this realm. Knowing he is their only hope for survival, Sam must learn to harness his budding powers to save his friends and the land of Orkney.

Ashley Johnson

Lead Editor

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or exploring breathtaking locations throughout the US.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading this winter break!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.