What she reads if she loves Once Upon A Time

photo by Liana Mikah

What isn’t there to love about a fantasy series based on the fairy tales from our childhood? Because we can’t get enough of Once Upon A Time, we have compiled a list of books to fulfill your need for magical characters and tales from your childhood. These are books like Once Upon A Time.

Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

Although she has spent most of her life in a high-security mental hospital, Snow knows that she doesn’t really belong there. When she escapes and finds herself in a completely new world where danger looms around every corner, she must battle the evils that threaten to keep her from ever returning to the reality she calls home.

Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen

Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen

Captain James Benjamin Hook is not the villain everyone thinks he is. Trapped in a curse where he must play the antagonist role, he meets a grown woman who has defied the rules of Neverland. As Hook begins to see that she may be the only one able to break the curse, the two begin to grow close in this adult fairytale love story.

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

The Goblin King has always intrigued Liesl but when her sister is taken by him to be his queen, Liesl must save her. Upon entering his world, she is drawn to everything including the king himself but if she wants to save her sister, she will have to stifle her amazement of the Underground and become a hero.

The Wrath & the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

The Wrath & the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

Shazi is determined to meet a different fate than the one many of her friends and other women have found waiting for them. When she agrees to marry the killer Caliph of Khorasan, everyone thinks she’s crazy as he kills all his lovers – but Shazi has a plan of revenge. However, as she gets to know him, she begins to fall for him, spoiling her devious scheme.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

A middle-aged man returns to his hometown for a funeral only to get caught up in the terrifying monsters that still haunt the place. Channeling back to when he was seven, the man replays his childhood in his head where he made friends with the mythical Lettie and fought off the demons that lived both in his head and in the physical world.

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

After the death of his mother, twelve-year-old David takes refuge in his attic where the books on the shelf have begun to talk to him. As he dives into the books, reality and fantasy start to become one as he is sucked into a world where dark, grim versions of classic fairy tale characters exist and he must get to the king if he ever wants to return home.

Shelves: TV
Ashley Johnson

Content Editor + Producer

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or exploring breathtaking locations throughout the US.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.