6 Books like The Alchemist

books like the alchemist

Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist is all full of adventure and mystery, reminding readers to follow their hearts while staying mindful of the universe’s subtle signs. We rounded up six books with similar themes – all of which will inspire your inner wanderlust just in time for summer!

The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari: A Fable about Fulfilling Your Dreams & Reaching Your Destiny by Robin Sharma

Robin Sharma’s inspiring fable tells the story of Julian, a high-profile lawyer who, after having a heart attack, leaves his career behind in search of a more meaningful life. It combines travel with philosophical teachings and offers a step-by-step approach to living with greater courage, balance, abundance and joy.


Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

When Cheryl Strayed’s mother died and she hit rock bottom after years of drug abuse, she made the decision to walk the Pacific Crest Trail alone. Wild meanders between her life and experience on the trail, and the mental and physical challenges of her previous path.  


The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

In this #1 New York Times bestseller, readers follow along as an unlikely friendship blossoms between a wealthy boy and the son of his father’s servant. Set in Afghanistan amid political tension and destruction, a deep friendship bonds two very different families as sacrifice and betrayal swirl around them.


The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler

Simon Watson is a young librarian living alone long after his parents have died and his sister has disappeared with a traveling carnival. When a mysterious book arrives on his doorstep – a log from a 1700s carnival owner – Watson learns that his mother’s death may have been no accident and history may threaten to repeat itself. Could it be a curse? Watson is under the clock to stop fate from striking again.


All These Wonders: True Stories About Facing the Unknown by Catherine Burns

Carefully selected by the creative minds at The Moth, this collection of stories shares the tales of several authors. With adventures great and small, the stories told with passion, humility and sometimes humor, reveal the courage it takes to face new challenges.


Life of Pi by Yann Martel

Pi’s father owns a zoo in India, which must be relocated to Canada by sea. But when a tragic shipwreck occurs, Pi finds himself alone onboard with a handful of scared, injured animals. His tale is one of loss, sacrifice, bravery and trust as he’s forced to face an impossible situation alone.

(Feature image courtesy of @gaby.yn)

*Disclosure: The links above are affiliate links. These picks are editorially selected, but if you purchase, She Reads may get something in return. We are a participant in the Bookshop Affiliate Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Bookshop.org while simultaneously supporting local bookstores. 

Alison Luther

Alison Luther is a freelance editor and writer based in Fredericksburg, TX, where she lives with her husband and two children. Her background is in digital consumer content and marketing strategies, but today she focuses on small business marketing, ghostwriting, and writing about all things books on She Reads. In addition to raising longhorn, chickens, and children, she loves to cook and is a voracious reader.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Looking for a new book to read, huh?

This She Reads-approved book subscription box will keep you reading all year-long.