6 Books to read if you loved The Goldfinch

There is nothing out there quite like Donna Tartt’s 700-page novel The Goldfinch, which won the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, among many other tributes. But there are several books also themed around the power of art, loss, fate and beauty that we know you’ll enjoy. If you loved The Goldfinch, check out these six books.

Search of the Moon King’s Daughter by Linda Holeman

When Emmaline’s father passes away from cholera, her family is forced to move to a mill town where her mother is injured in a factory accident and becomes addicted to laudanum. In a desperate move for more drugs, her mother sells Emmaline’s little brother Tommy to a chimney sweep company in London – forcing him into a very tough and painful life. Emmaline must find him before it’s too late.


Life After Life by Kate Atkinson 

It’s 1910 and Ursula Todd is born – a stillborn – to a wealthy English family. That same cold night, Ursula Todd is born and lives to embark on a very unusual life of strange, repeated deaths, caught between two supernatural powers at war. She has the power to change civilization if she can only live long enough to try.


Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

Now a major motion picture starring Julianne Moore, this New York Times bestseller brings us the story of Roxanne Coss, opera’s most revered soprano. When she’s paid to perform in South America at a wealthy businessman’s birthday party, it promises to be the show of a lifetime. But then disaster strikes as she’s captured by terrorists. Unexpected emotions swirl as time passes during her imprisonment.


Metropolis: A Novel by Elizabeth Gaffney

In the years immediately following the Civil War, young immigrants are rising from New York City in search of the American dream. Our hero is one of them, and throughout his journey, he encounters enterprising street gangs, the P.T. Barnum circus and the building of the Brooklyn Bridge. Both he and the city are changed forever in this extraordinary moment of time.


Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

When 15-year-old Lina’s family home is raided and she’s forced into a Siberian work camp, she has only her art for comfort. She draws to process her emotions and the horrific events surrounding her, and before passing her drawings along, she imbeds clues to her location, praying they will find their way to her father’s prison camp. If her art can help her family survive, only time will tell.


The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion

Tragedy struck twice in author Joan Didion’s life when her daughter slipped into a coma following septic shock, and days later when Didion’s husband suffered a massive and fatal coronary. Weeks later, her daughter pulled through, but things didn’t end there. Processing it all, Didion wrote an intimate and very honest exploration of marriage and love for family – in good times and bad.

(Feature image courtesy of @bookmarkedbya)

*Disclosure: The links above are affiliate links. These picks are editorially selected, but if you purchase, She Reads may get something in return. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. 

Alison Luther

Alison Luther is a freelance editor and writer based in Fredericksburg, TX, where she lives with her husband and two children. Her background is in digital consumer content and marketing strategies, but today she focuses on small business marketing, ghostwriting, and writing about all things books on She Reads. In addition to raising longhorn, chickens, and children, she loves to cook and is a voracious reader.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.