What she reads if she loves The Good Place

the good place

If you’re a fan of The Good Place like we are, we’ve handpicked some book selections we know you’ll love! From dark comedies to thought-provoking explorations of afterlife concepts, these novels are sure to hit the spot.

the good place

Food of the Gods by Cassandra Khaw

Rupert is struggling to make ends meet, but the two jobs he’s juggling aren’t exactly typical. By day he is a sorcerer, gathering human offerings for a dynasty of ghouls. By night, he’s doing the administrative thing for the Ten Chinese Hells. But no matter how hard he works, he can’t earn freedom for his ghost girlfriend. Something’s gotta give.


the good place

Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Hannah Martin is in her late 20s and still in career limbo. But when she moves back to her hometown of LA to live with her best friend Gabby, she crosses paths with an old flame. After a night out, she has the chance to leave with Gabby or go back to Ethan’s place. In concurrent storylines, Hannah lives out the fate of each decision, giving weight to the question, “What if?”


Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder

Fourteen-year-old Sophie Amundsen comes home from school one day to find two notes: “Who are you?” and “Where does the world come from?” From there, Sophie takes an exploration of Western philosophical concepts with her mysterious pen pal. But the deeper they go, the more complicated the truth becomes.


Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

Samantha Kingston is a popular high school girl. With Cupid Day just around the corner, she knows it’ll raise her social status even higher. Then an accident occurs and she dies. But things don’t end there. Instead, Samantha gets to live out the last day of her life seven more times as she comes to understand the little twists that lead to her fate.


Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin

Fifteen-year-old Liz Hall dies and she ends up in Elsewhere. It’s a lot like Earth, but also a lot different – for one thing, she won’t get to turn 16. Instead, she’ll slowly age backward toward infancy, until she returns to Earth. Things aren’t going so smoothly here, and Liz is struggling to let go of the life she’s loved until now.


Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

It’s 1910 and Ursula Todd has just been born, a stillborn. On that same cold night, she is born and gets to embark on her life ahead. In a series of strange and unfortunate ways, Ursula lives and dies over and over, keeping her from overcoming an evil force that threatens civilization. She has the power to defeat it – if only she could live long enough.

(Feature image courtesy of Vox)

*Disclosure: The links above are affiliate links. These picks are editorially selected, but if you purchase, She Reads may get something in return. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. 

Alison Luther

Alison Luther is a freelance editor and writer based in Fredericksburg, TX, where she lives with her husband and two children. Her background is in digital consumer content and marketing strategies, but today she focuses on small business marketing, ghostwriting, and writing about all things books on She Reads. In addition to raising longhorn, chickens, and children, she loves to cook and is a voracious reader.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.