10 Books if you like This Is Us

photo by Kathy Hutchins via shutterstock

With seamless transitions between the past and present and an outstanding cast of actors, it is no wonder This Is Us and the story of the Pearson family has captured the hearts of so many. Filled with emotion, tragedy and moments of pure joy, these books will give you all the feels of a good family story.

All We Ever Wanted by Emily Giffin 

Nina Browning has strayed far from the life she was born into but with a loving husband and a successful son, she knows she has no reason to be upset. On the other hand, single father Tom Volpe is trying to get by and when his daughter is involved in a high school scandal, the entire community will be shaken up, including Nina.

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

Marilyn and James Lee want their daughter Lydia to be successful in ways they never were but when the favorite daughter is found dead in a nearby lake, they’ll find their fragile world has spun into chaos. Searching for answers and reliving family secrets, this novel captures the depth of family bonds and the tragedies we are forced to endure.

She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb

She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb

Kate would undoubtedly find a friend in Wally Lamb’s Dolores Price who struggles with a childhood full of pain, weight problems and not knowing her place in the world. In this coming-of-age novel, Dolores may feel defeated but she refuses to give up on herself as she finally decides that she has one more shot at being the kind of person she’s always wanted to be.

Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult

Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult

In a family full of secrets and lies, one tragic accident could be what leads them to their ultimate unraveling. Bringing them together before tearing them apart again, the Warren family will be forced to make one fateful decision that no one is ready for in this book about the bonds within a family and the impact the smallest of choices can make.

Seven Days of Us by Francesca Hornak

Seven Days of Us by Francesca Hornak

Seven days in one house with the entire Birch family will bring out secrets and a surprise guest that no one saw coming. Cut off from the rest of the world, the family’s week together will be one that nobody will ever forget.

Moonglow by Michael Chabon

Moonglow by Michael Chabon

By questioning how real a memoir can really be if our memories are often flawed, Chabon wrote Moonglow as a hybrid between memoir and fiction. Recounting stories told to him while his grandfather was on his deathbed, this multigenerational book unveils family secrets that had once been hidden behind an era of war, adventure and existential doubt.

The Bad Dream Notebook by Linda Dahl

The Bad Dream Notebook by Linda Dahl

Mona’s father has just died and her life has begun to sink into a world of drugs and poor choices. Although her mother Erica is still mourning the loss, she knows she must step in and save her daughter’s life. Through much struggle and heartbreak, the two must find their own paths to healing and regain the strength that once held their fragile lives together.

Triple Love Score by Brandi Megan Granett

Triple Love Score by Brandi Megan Granett

Poetry professor Miranda has begun a professional life in the classroom and a social media existence in her free time. Crafting poetry on Scrabble boards was keeping her nights busy until her one true love, Scott returns with the shocking truth about why he disappeared. Now reeling, and thinking of the life they could have had, Miranda can’t help but wonder about a future with the perilous man.

The House We Grew Up In by Lisa Jewell

The House We Grew Up In by Lisa Jewell

The Birds were once the ideal family living in their splendid brick house. But when one fateful Easter brings about chaos and mistrust, the family that everyone once knew and admired has turned into a mess of lies and despair. When they are all beckoned back to the childhood residence years later, four siblings will try to find closure in the dark corners of the home that once fostered a loving family.

The Mothers by Brit Bennett

The Mothers by Brit Bennett

Leaving the past behind, Nadia returns to the town she grew up in with hopes of mending bridges that had been broken so long ago, but reconnecting with old friends won’t turn out the way she had hoped. While it seems that everyone has secrets they want to keep quiet, Nadia will now have to face the consequence of one life-changing decision she made in high school.

Shelves: TV
Ashley Johnson

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or reviewing the newest liquid lipstick formula on her YouTube channel.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
read along @shereadsdotcom

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading at the beach this summer!
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.