What Alex Posey reads during True Crime month

What Alex Posey reads during True Crime month
Alex Posey, the Editorial Director at Scribd, loves true crime books just as much as we do. We’re thrilled that she is sharing her top reads in the intriguing genre with us. Read on to find out what Alex Posey is reading during the She Reads True Crime month.

I’ll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman’s Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer by Michelle McNamara

I’ll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman’s Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer by Michelle McNamara

This is the buzziest true crime book to come out in awhile for so many reasons: It’s about a serial rapist and murderer who somehow eluded capture for decades. The author, wife of actor Patton Oswalt, died unexpectedly while writing it. And, most notably, the killer was caught just months after the book was published. How could you not read it? A true page-turner about a thrilling case with a new – and satisfying – conclusion.


Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI by David Grann

This book from New Yorker writer David Grann has been a bestseller since its release last year, and for good reason. This excellently-written tale exposes the corruption and racism at the heart of a shocking conspiracy that left dozens of people dead and sparked one of the first FBI cases. This horrifying look at America’s sordid history makes for a terrific book.


City of Devils: The Two Men Who Ruled the Underworld of Old Shanghai by Paul French

This brand new release by an Edgar-award winning writer is perfect for fans of The Devil in the White City and for those who enjoy tales of historical corruption and cronyism. Focusing on the spectacular rise and fall of two men in 1930’s Shanghai, it’s a captivating tale of greed and gumption.


The Road to Jonestown: Jim Jones and Peoples Temple by Jeff Guinn

Cults are back. This 2018 finalist for the Edgar Award in Fact Crime goes in depth on one of the most famous ones, formed by a leader so beguiling he convinced almost a thousand people to – quite literally – drink the Kool-Aid, killing them all.

Alex Posey

Alex Posey is the Editorial Director at Scribd. From working with Scribd’s publishing partners to analyzing trends in the industry to writing features on her favorite reads, her focus is always on getting great books in front of readers who will love them. Alex is very involved in the literary community in San Francisco. As a former editor of the lit magazine Radio Silence, she helped found the Silent Reading Party with Lemony Snicket, a monthly event where local readers come together to read and drink for the benefit of San Francisco’s public schools. In 2015, she was recognized as a Publishers Weekly Star Watch Honoree.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.