7 Books like 1984

books like 1984

When you think about books like George Orwell’s 1984, there are some standard classics that come to mind: The Handmaid’s Tale, A Clockwork Orange, Animal Farm, The Giver, The Hunger Games, to name just a few. Here, we’re sharing some newer dystopian novels that feel otherworldly. Here are our picks for books like George Orwell’s classic novel, 1984. Big Brother is always watching!

Scarlet Odyssey by C. T. Rwizi

Men are warriors, and magic belongs to women. But Salo has always loved books and magic even though these things are considered unmanly. When Salo awakens his latent magic and his village is attacked, he knows he must do something to save his home. After the attack, his queen sends him on a quest to Jungle City where he is joined by a group of outcasts. But the group is being hunted, and possibly by the same person who attacked Salo’s home village.


The Passage by Justin Cronin

Abandoned by her mother, imprisoned and placed into a government experiment, Amy did what she could to survive. When special agent Brad Wolgast is sent to find Amy, he is disarmed by the quiet girl who he has risked his life to save. While Wolgast is able to save Amy, he cannot stop the collapse of society and it becomes glaringly obvious that only Amy has the power to save their world.


The Electric Heir by Victoria Lee

There is a deadly magic ravaging Carolinia, and Noam knows Lehrer is responsible and plans to bring him to justice. But in order to do so, Noam must play the role of Lehrer’s protégé and steal the vaccine to stop the infection that is killing everyone. When Dara returns to Carolinia stripped of his magic, he will try to align with Noam to defeat Lehrer.


Vox by Christina Dalcher

Vox by Christina Dalcher

One hundred words a day. That’s all women and girls are allowed to speak, and Dr. Jean McClellan is shocked that this is her new America. When women are then prohibited from working and forbidden to learn to read and write, Jean will do whatever it takes to reclaim her voice.

Followers by Megan Angelo

A budding novelist and a wanna-be A-lister devise a plan to launch them into the success they both crave. Thirty-five years later, where celebrities are appointed by the government and forced to live their lives on camera, another woman tries to unravel secrets of the past. Through time, Orla, Floss and Marlow’s stories are woven toward an event that will send America into upheaval.


Red Clocks by Leni Zumas

A story about motherhood, identity and freedom, five women will ask the question: What is a woman for? One woman is trying to have a baby; another is writing a biography. Susan is trapped in a marriage and taking care of her children; and Mattie is pregnant with no where to go for help. Gin will bring all of these women together when she is arrested in a modern-day witch hunt. Resilient and transformative, this story evokes feelings of The Handmaid’s Tale.


The Life Below by Alexandra Monir

Set in a near-future Earth destroyed by climate change, six teens have won the opportunity for a mission to find a new home on Jupiter’s moon, Europa. In The Life Below, Naomi has left Leo behind on the dying Earth as she travels to Europa, unsure of who she can trust. And Leo is doing all he can to get to outer space to reconnect with Naomi and warn them of the dangers of the extraterrestrials they are sure to encounter. While the Final Six are dreaming about a new world, they may just have entered a nightmare.

(Feature image courtesy of @fromthedailyprophet)

*Disclosure: The links above are affiliate links. These picks are editorially selected, but if you purchase, She Reads may get something in return. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. 

Stephanie Elliot

Stephanie Elliot writes for a variety of websites and magazines on topics such as parenting, mental health issues, relationships, and of course, books. She is an editor and book reviewer. Stephanie is also the author of the young adult novel, Sad Perfect, which was inspired by her own daughter’s journey with ARFID, Avoidant/Restrictive Food Intake Disorder. She lives in Scottsdale, Arizona, with her husband and their three children. For more info, visit www.stephanieelliot.com.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Looking for a new book to read, huh?

This She Reads-approved book subscription box will keep you reading all year-long.