5 Books like Downton Abbey

At long last, it is here. As we watch Carson walk back up the walkway to Downton Abbey, you can hear the theme song playing. Fans of the series have waited long enough to see the castle revisited and catch up with old friends Mary, Edith, Branson and the rest of the stellar cast. Listed below are a few tales that will keep the elegance and royalty a-go, long after the movie is over. Raise your glass to this phenomenal series and enjoy these books like Downton Abbey.

While We Were Watching Downton Abbey by Wendy Wax

A group of friends gathers each week to watch Downton Abbey. Through the charm and wisdom of the show, they are all living their lives while creating lasting friendships that will help them survive the triumphs and tragedies of life.


Downton Abbey: The Film Companion by Emma Marriott

This film companion book is a stunning photographic coffee table read that visits the sets, costumes and beautiful scenery that make the Downton film what it is. In-depth interviews and how the film was made make this book a must-read for any fan of the hit TV show.


Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey: The Lost Legacy of Highclere Castle by The Countess of Carnarvon

Written by the current owner of Highclere Castle, the home of Downton Abbey, Lady Fiona Carnarvon tells the story of the real-life Cora Crawley – Lady Almina. Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey is the story of a strong and brave woman who was married off at a young age and moved into Highclere Castle to do great and ambitious things. Just like Cora!


The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson

In an idyllic town, a beautiful Latin teacher is welcomed while residents brace themselves for an upcoming war. The different classes, the town folk and the tight-knit feel of this small town create characters and a setting that is both quaint and complex.


Below Stairs: The Classic Kitchen Maid’s Memoir by Margaret Powell

Below Stairs is a beautiful memoir by kitchen maid, Margaret Powell, as she tells about her time in the exquisite and beautiful homes in England. This book inspired Downton Abbey and is reminiscent of a story that Mrs. Patmore would tell.

*Disclosure: The links above are affiliate links. These picks are editorially selected, but if you purchase, She Reads may get something in return. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. 

Courtney Marzilli

Bliss, Beauty and Books was founded in 2010 by Courtney Marzilli. Marzilli is a biblophile and beauty junkie. She has combined her love of both books and beauty and created a blog to share both with her adoring fans. As a freelance makeup artist and an avid reader, she is able to marry the two together in a unique way. On Bliss, Beauty and Books, readers will find must-have beauty products and everyday beauty tips along with straight-forward reviews of up-and-coming must- read books as well as interviews with best-selling authors. Marzilli has her finger on the pulse working closely with publicists to make sure her readers hear about AH-mazing books. Her unique features of “What’s in my Bookish {Beauty} Bag?” and “Open Book” allow readers to get to know their favorite authors in a fun and fabulous way!

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.