What she reads if she loves Love Warrior

books like love warrior

photo by @glennondoyle

Oprah knew what she was doing when she named Love Warrior as one of her book club picks. Doyle’s memoir is a timeless story of embracing your inner, fearless warrior and not being afraid to redefine society’s definition of things like what it is to be sexy. In a world full of self-doubt, the reads on this list will inspire you to lead a happy life no matter the circumstances. Here are seven books like Love Warrior. 

I'm the One Who Got Away by Andrea Jarrell

I’m the One Who Got Away by Andrea Jarrell

Originally started as a Modern Love column for the New York Times, Andrea Jarrell’s memoir details her young life with her mother and mostly absent, abusive father, Nick. When she finds out about a neighbor’s violent murder, she is forced to revisit her troublesome past, seeing her parents for the people they really are.

Braving the Wilderness by Brene Brown

Braving the Wilderness by Brené Brown

Just as Love Warrior encourages its readers to find a way to self-love, Brown’s New York Times bestseller challenges you to be true to yourself and face a world full of criticism in your most vulnerable form. In a time of blending in and staying placant, Brené Brown stresses how important it is to find a way to be comfortable with yourself no matter the circumstances.

Fire Season by Hollye Dexter

Fire Season by Hollye Dexter

As if waking up to your entire house ablaze wasn’t hard enough, Hollye Dexter and her family lost everything they once valued in a single fated night. In the wake of devastation, she must find enough strength to keep her family together, despite the constant blows she is forced to endure.

Forward by Abby Wambach

Abby Wambach was not going to let a man be the highest goal scorer in the soccer world, taking the title for herself in 2015. This breakout memoir takes readers into the inner struggles and successes of a professional athlete, daughter and wife who found her true self when she let go and embraced the hardships life threw her way.

The Wisdom of Sundays by Oprah Winfrey

The Wisdom of Sundays by Oprah Winfrey

For anyone who has ever wanted to see into the mind of one of the world’s most powerful and successful women, The Wisdom of Sundays will be your next must-read. Comprised of conversations with fellow lucrative business women, the inspiration you need to accomplish your next big hurdle will be found in the pages of this book.

The State of Affairs by Esther Perel

The State of Affairs by Esther Perel

In this insightful read, Perel argues that infidelity may not always mean the end of a marriage but instead, the beginning of a more honest and open relationship, capable of healing and forgiveness. Offering a new way to look at love and what we expect from relationships, this is an important read if you’re looking for answers to questions about the human heart.

Option B by Sheryl Sandberg and Adam Grant

Option B by Sheryl Sandberg and Adam Grant

A fresh combination of real-life experience and guided research into the human mind’s road to recovery, Option B is the tough-love read for anyone going through a hard time. When you think there’s no hope left, Sheryl Sandberg and Adam Grant will lead you into the light with this self-help read about loss, resilience and the growth that can come out of catastrophe.

Tell Me More: Stories About the 12 Hardest Things I’m Learning to Say by Kelly Corrigan

New York Times bestselling author Kelly Corrigan’s latest book is a brutally honest look at some of the phrases we use in our every day life. Using her personal stories to look at the complexities of these otherwise casual phrases, Tell Me More is an exploration of language and the life-altering power of words.

Ashley Johnson

Content Editor + Producer

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or exploring breathtaking locations throughout the US.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.