6 Books to read if you loved The Girls

photo by Sara Chambers Creative

The complicated and sometimes dark friendships between young women have always been a hot topic in the literary world. Emma Cline pulled her readers into this world of intrigue, jealousy and love with her instant New York Times bestseller The Girls, and we have been begging for more ever since. The books on this list will satisfy any thriller lover looking for a sinister plotline and compelling characters.

Is This Tomorrow by Caroline Leavitt

Is This Tomorrow by Caroline Leavitt

Amidst the panic of Cold War threats and the rising suspicion of single mothers, Ava learns that life in the suburbs isn’t always peachy keen. When her son’s young friend goes missing, everyone in the quaint Boston town is suddenly enveloped in a throw of secrets, heartbreak and regret.

Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler

Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler

Discovering the dark world of New York City while simultaneously finding herself may prove disastrous for twenty-two-year-old Tess. This coming-of-age story finds a way to pinpoint the glamorous and dangerous world of being young in an industry where only the strongest survive.

The Undertaking of Tess by Lesley Kagen

The Undertaking of Tess by Lesley Kagen

Taking on more than a young child ever should, Tess is struggling to mourn the death of her father while making sure her sister, Birdie, keeps sane. Knowing the odds are not in her favor, Tess is determined to keep the remains of her family together, no matter what it takes.

My Absolute Darling by Gabriel Tallent

My Absolute Darling by Gabriel Tallent

When it seems like no one can penetrate young Turtle’s walls, one boy comes along to change her view of the world around her. After a tumultuous childhood without a mother and a strained relationship with her father, she is starting to realize that maybe she can escape the life she dreads and become her own hero.

Marlena by Julie Buntin

Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

August and her young friends knew they weren’t equipped for the dangers of Brooklyn but dreamed of the bright lights and brilliant buzz of the city anyway. As the girls grow up, they must come to terms with the world they have built around them and the truth behind the most transformative time of their lives: growing up.

Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

You’re Not That Great: (but neither is anyone else) by Elan Gale

Elan Gale argues that purely practicing positivity won’t get you where you need to go. Instead of only thinking positively, Gale challenges readers to harness all the negative energy they have accumulated and use it to improve their lives and stay true to themselves because life isn’t always sunshine and rainbows.

Ashley Johnson

Editor & Producer

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or exploring breathtaking locations throughout the US.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading this winter break!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.