What we’re reading: Books like Twilight

Midnight Sun is finally here, and if you’re like the rest of us, you’ve already wrapped your binge-reading. If you’re looking for more books like Twlight, you’re not alone! To prevent that post-book slump, we’ve rounded up 11 books like Twilight that you’ll want to sink your teeth into and read after Midnight Sun.

Books like Twilight to read after Midnight Sun

Books Like Twilight - The Beautiful

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

In 19th century New Orleans, vampires roam in plain sight. It’s a city ruled by the dead, but for Celine Rousseau, the dead have nothing on the hell she was surrounded by back in Paris. As Celine becomes fascinated by the city’s glitzy La Cour des Lions, she becomes entangled with Sébastien Saint Germain – a dangerous, yet delectable underworld leader. And a future with him could cost her life. This book is Twilight meets Interview with a Vampire and is a thrilling book to read after Midnight Sun.


Books like Twilight - Red Queen

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

In the first book of this #1 New York Times bestselling series, we meet 17-year old Mare Barrow, whose world is divided by blood types: common red blood like hers, and those with superhuman abilities, the silver blooded. But while she struggles to scape by in life, the tables turn quickly revealing to Mare that her future is less red that she’s always believed.

When you’re looking for a book to read after Midnight Sun, this book is a nail-biter and you’ll find yourself sucked in by chapter one!


Books like Twilight - Fallen

Fallen by Lauren Kate

Mysterious Daniel Grigori catches Luce Price’s attention, and she can’t put her finger on the reason why. He avoids her, but she still can’t quench her curiosity. Besides, he’s a great distraction from the typical boarding school dramas. How far will she go to pursue Daniel? She discovers too late that not all is fair… or safe… in love and war.

If you’re looking for Twilight-style twists and turns, look no further.


Books like Twilight - Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

In this New York Times bestselling epic fantasy trilogy black handprints start appearing on doorways, mysteriously scorched there by otherworldly visitors from the sky. The world as we know it is on the brink of a supernatural war, and it seems that nothing can be done to stop it.  

Fast-paced and well-constructed, readers will find love, loneliness and desperation at every turn. This is the next series of books to read after Twilight.


Books like Twilight - City of Bones

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

When 15-year old Clary Fray is out on the streets of New York City one night she witnesses a murder. But before she can report it, the body – and the murderers – disappear. It’s not long before Clary is whisked into the mysterious world of Shadowhunters and demons, and before her own powers are discovered.

Prepare to be hooked by this bestselling series!


Books like Twilight - Delirium

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

In the first book of this New York Times bestselling trilogy, love has become forbidden – a dangerous disease from which the U.S. government has stepped in to protect against. Once teens reach the age of 18, they’re treated with “the Cure.” Lena Haloway is counting down the days until her treatment when the unthinkable happens and Lena begins feeling the stirrings of love.

Forbidden love is at the center of this gripping series we know you’ll devour after you read Midnight Sun.


Books like Twilight - Shiver Linger Forever

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Where are our Team Jacob readers at? Grace has always watched the wolves behind her house, particularly the yellow-eyed one who seems so mysterious. Sam lives two lives: one as a wolf among the safety of his pack in the winter; one as a human during the summer months. When the pair meet, Grace instantly connects with Sam and is gripped by his familiarity. But winter is nearing, and for Sam, there’s a lot to lose.

Twilight fans will fall for the supernatural romance woven throughout this haunting tale.


Books like Twilight - Black City

Black City by Elizabeth Richards

The city has just suffered a devastating war between humans and Darklings, and in the aftermath, tensions are still smoldering. But 16-year olds Ash Fisher, a half-blood Darkling, and Natalie Buchanan, a human and the daughter of the Emissary, can’t fight the way they feel – and what they feel is love.  

We loved this post-apocalyptic love story where the only thing worse than love is death.


Books like Twilight - Rush

Rush by Maya Banks

Gabe has waited a long time to make a move on Mia Crestwell, his best friend’s little sister who is strictly forbidden. For Mia, Gabe has always been somewhat of a fantasy and now she’s old enough now to start pursuing her desires, even if they are far-fetched. But when the two finally do cross the line, secrets, betrayal, and soaring emotions are exposed.

Risky, sexy and fast-paced – thank goodness there’s two more books in the Breathless series. If you’re looking for another star-crossed romance book to read after Twilight, this is the series.


Books like Twilight - Matched

Matched by Ally Conde

Fate is in the hands of the trusted Society – they dictate all of life’s choices, making it so there’s really not much choice left in it at all. So, during Cassia’s Matching ceremony when she sees Xander’s face appear on the screen, she knows he’s the best suitor for her. But then there was the glitch where Ky’s face flashed onto the screen for a split second, and since then she hasn’t been able to get him out of her mind. Would she even dare risk straying from the Society for love?

If you like twists, romance and mystery, this is the book for you.


Books like Twilight - Crave

Crave by Tracy Wolff

What is it about vampires? Grace is a mere mortal at the academy, struggling to find where she fits in among the factions. Jaxon is a vampire who keeps to himself – and for good reason: he’s hiding more than one deadly secret. But for Grace, his unapproachable attitude is intriguing. If she pursues him, and the secrets he protects, it could spell disaster for everyone in this book like Twilight.

Sexy and suspenseful – you won’t be able to put this one down.

She Reads Editors

The She Reads Editors are always scouting the best books for all your #TBR piles. We’re offering up our favorite books, from classics to debuts, bestselling to the next big thing. Read along with us on social, too!

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Looking for a new book to read, huh?

This She Reads-approved book subscription box will keep you reading all year-long.