The most anticipated books of summer 2019

most anticipated books of summer 2019

The warm weather is nearing which means we’re gearing up for a long summer of reading the best new books. With picks from every genre, these are the most anticipated books of summer 2019… we have a feeling you’ll be adding a few (or all of them) to your #TBR pile.

For even more amazing summer reading recommendations, check out Working Mother’s picks for the season.

The Wedding Party by Jasmine Guillory

Jasmine Guillory brings readers all the romance, and this summer, you’ll have a new story to fall in love with. Maddie and Theo have never liked one another but when their mutual best friend announces her plans to get married, they try to put their differences aside to be there for their friend. Soon their physical attraction becomes too much and one hookup leads to a new routine for the unlikely pair, making them question whether or not they could ever really be together.


Whisper Network by Chandler Baker

Blurbed by some of the best suspense writers in the genre, Whisper Network is sure to be a hit among thriller junkies everywhere. Sloane, Rosalita, Grace and Ardie have worked for the same company for years and when a misogynistic man is put in charge after the death of the CEO, it’ll be up to them to keep him in check. But just as the company is settling into the change of leadership, one inappropriate act by the new CEO will set into motion a chain of events that will change the company forever.


Mrs. Everything by Jennifer Weiner

Tracing back to the 1950s, this new novel from Jennifer Weiner will be the perfect book club pick of summer. Jewish sisters Jo and Bethie go through the trials and tribulations most women face throughout their lifetimes. Despite the confusion and heartbreak that comes with growing up, the sisters learn that in the end, they’ll always have each other.


Honestly, We Meant Well by Grant Ginder

From the author of The People We Hate at the Wedding comes a humorous summer release that will leave you in tears from both crying and laughing. When Sue Ellen Wright sees her family struggling, she picks up and takes them all on a vacation to a Greek island for a month; the same island where she had to learn tough lessons about life when she was young. Through reminiscing on her past, Sue hopes to bring her family back together and give them the fresh start they all need.


Things You Save In A Fire by Katherine Center

Cassie has always been good at taking care of other people and their emergencies. In love with her job as a firefighter in Texas, her entire world is turned upside down when her mom calls her and lets her know she needs her back in Boston. Struggling to adjust to a new firehouse and the possibility of finding love with a colleague, she will have to put everything on the line to become a new kind of hero and truly embrace life – even when it seems foreign and scary.


Searching for Sylvie Lee by Jean Kwok

A favorite of Paula Hawkins, this literary fiction novel will take you on a rollercoaster of emotions this summer. When Sylvie Lee travels to the Netherlands to visit her dying grandmother one final time, her family is left searching for answers when she doesn’t return. As Sylvie’s younger sister picks up the search in lieu of her family, she stumbles upon secrets that will implicate her and her complicated family forever. A must-read for fans of Celeste Ng.


The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman

An only child, Nina Hill grew up spending her time reading, working in a bookstore and playing trivia games. Her quiet life changes forever when she learns about the death of the father she never knew and his family, who are all ecstatic to meet Nina. Fearing this strange family reunion, her life gets even more complicated when her trivia nemesis turns out to be sweet and charming, and interested in Nina. This feel-good read has been popping up on Instagram lately and with summer on the horizon, we think you’ll be seeing a lot more of this book.


The Golden Hour by Beatriz Williams

It’s the early 1940s and newly-widowed Lulu Randolph is headed to the Bahamas to investigate a story about the governor and his wife. As she gets closer to the couple, she learns their lives are filled with lies, tension and dark secrets. While there, she falls in love with the charming yet complex scientist, Benedict Thorpe. When a prominent man is murdered and Benedict disappears, Lulu’s investigation takes a new turn. This shocking historical fiction novel is perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah.


City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Eat, Pray, Love is back this summer with a new novel. When Vivian Morris gets kicked out of college, she moves in with her aunt who owns a theater in the city. As Vivian gets involved in the theatre, she makes a mistake that turns scandalous, and could impact her life forever.


Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck & Fortune by Roselle Lim

Natalie Tan left Chinatown behind long ago when her mother wouldn’t support her dreams of being a chef. Returning after her mother’s death, she’ll be left to grieve and take care of the restaurant she just inherited from her grandmother. Despite her dislike of the city, she will soon learn that all she needs is a little love from the community to finally feel part of the place she once called home.


The Bride Test by Helen Hoang

Khai Diep has a hard time expressing himself because of his autism. His mother is worried that he may never find love and heads to Vietnam to bring home a potential wife for Khai. Esme is smitten with Khai, but will he ever be able to reciprocate the feelings she has for him.


Recursion by Blake Crouch

In this highly anticipated sci-fi thriller, a darkness is sweeping the world and replacing people’s memories with memories of experiences they never had. Neuroscientist Helena Smith is on a mission to cure those with the affliction. Teaming up with NYC cop Barry Sutton, the two will face their greatest life’s work yet when they go up against the one opponent that could destroy the entire world forever.


Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey

Ivy Gamble has never possessed magical abilities like her sister and she’s fine with that. Living in a world without magic, Ivy is reluctant to get pulled into the investigation of a murder that has just occurred at the school where her sister teaches magic. Now, she will have to get to the bottom of the case and bring her sister back home.


The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez

Kristen wants to find love but when she learns she needs a surgery that will affect her ability to have children, finding love becomes less of a priority. Just as she accepts her fate, she meets Josh – a man she could love. But Josh wants a big family. While Kristen fights her desires because she knows she can’t give Josh what he truly wants, the two get closer. Will true love prevail despite the obstacles in The Friend Zone?


The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo

When Marilyn and David fell in love in the ’70s, they never anticipated the future. Now, in 2016, the couple reflect on the lives of their four daughters. A novel about parenthood, growing up and finding true happiness, this debut novel has been compared to the work of iconic authors like Celeste Ng.


The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead

It’s the early 1960s and Elwood Curtis has just made a mistake that will land him in a juvenile reformatory. Advertised as a school that turns boys into honorable men, it is actually a place where boys are abused and treated inhumanely. Trying to survive, Elwood remembers the words of Dr. Martin Luther King as he struggles to seek justice for him and the other boys at the reformatory.


The Testaments by Margaret Atwood

If you’ve been waiting for the follow-up to The Handmaid’s Tale, you’ll be delighted to know that this summer, your wait will finally come to an end. Jumping 15 years into the future – after Offred stepped away from Gilead – she tells the tale of what happened to everyone’s favorite badass heroine.

Tweet us and let us know which of the most anticipated books of summer 2019 you’re excited to read!

*Disclosure: The links above are affiliate links. These picks are editorially selected, but if you purchase, She Reads may get something in return. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. 

Ashley Johnson

Content Editor + Producer

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or exploring breathtaking locations throughout the US.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.