An exclusive interview with Elisabeth Thomas

Elisabeth Thomas has just released her debut novel Catherine House. This suspenseful thriller has been called a “dark, delicious read” by Forbes and “spellbinding” by Publishers Weekly. Perfect for fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History, this dark, spellbinding story is definitely part of our #TBR pile. We sat down with Elisabeth to get to know a bit more about her and her inspiration. Read on!

What was the inspiration behind Catherine House?

The idea actually first came to me when I was visiting the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston. I was entranced, so mesmerized by the idea that Gardner had this fantastically gorgeous home, so beautiful that she wanted to freeze it in time forever. The visit happened during a very difficult, unhappy time in my life, and in my unhappiness, I’d also been thinking a lot about my college years—yearning for them, really. When I got home from the museum, I jotted down a note that said, “a girl who falls in love with a house (a school)—base it on the Bluebeard fairy tale.” And that note became Catherine House.

Did you always know you wanted to write books?

Yes, absolutely! And even when I was a little girl writing meandering epics about unicorns and magic amulets, I took “my craft” very seriously. I don’t know how I knew that this was what I needed to do with my life, but I did, and the desire was always very powerful and very disciplined. I consider creative writing to be the great love of my life.

Which authors are you most inspired by?

In terms of influence on my writing, I would say classic gothic novelists like Charlotte Brontë and Daphne Du Maurier, and contemporary writers like Sarah Waters and Donna Tartt. But in a larger sense, I’d say authors who’ve fought through oppression to share their stories.

If you had to choose 5 of your favorite books of all time, what would they be and why?

That’s impossible, of course! but I’ll say these for the moment:

Chéri by Colette — It’s such a lush, decadent story. The words feel like silk, perfume, and velvet. come back to it again and again.

Member of the Wedding by Carson McCullers — A short, beautiful book that captures a particular emotion, a particular time in one’s life, with a specificity unlike anything I’ve ever seen.

Thick by Tressie Macmillan Cottom — These essays completely changed about I think about race, class, and beauty. Brilliant beyond words.

The Road to Los Angeles by John Fante — This was my favorite book in high school, and it still reminds me that time in a way that makes my heart ache.

Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto — Another short, heartbreaking book, so lovely and sweet and just enchanting.

Which books are you most looking forward to reading next?

I have The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton sitting right here on my desk. I’ve never read it, and for some reason I feel like now is the time!

She Reads Editors

The She Reads Editors are always scouting the best books for all your #TBR piles. We’re offering up our favorite books, from classics to debuts, bestselling to the next big thing. Read along with us on social, too!

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Looking for a new book to read, huh?

This She Reads-approved book subscription box will keep you reading all year-long.