7 Books for fans of Agatha Christie

books for fans of agatha christie

Agatha Christie is one of the best mystery writers in history. If you’ve worn through all of her 80+ novels and are still hungry for more quirky characters and twisty plots, here are seven books for fans of Agatha Christie.

Death by Dumpling by Vivien Chien

After a brutal breakup and career disaster, Lana Lee begrudgingly returned to her family’s restaurant to wait tables. But when Mr. Feng turns up dead after consuming shrimp – an allergy that was common knowledge, everyone is under suspicion. A police detective is on the case, but seems more interested in the daily special. So, it’s up to Lana to find out who killed Mr. Feng… before she’s next.


The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey

While Inspector Alan Grant of Scotland Yard recuperates from a broken leg, he becomes fascinated with a contemporary portrait of Richard III that’s in deep contrast with any he has ever seen. The man in the photo appears sensitive and noble – much unlike the murderer accused of killing his brother’s children to secure the crown. Grant decides to make this historical mystery his next case.


Still Life by Louise Penny

Chief Inspector Armand Gamache and his team of investigators are called on the scene when Jane Neal, a beloved member of the community, is found dead in the woods. Most believe it was a hunting accident, but Gamache suspects something much more sinister.


A Judgement in Stone by Ruth Rendell

It’s Valentine’s Day, and suddenly Detective Chief Superintendent William Vetch is at the horrific scene of a family massacre – one carried out by the Coverdales’ housekeeper, Eunice Parchman. But the tragedy doesn’t end there. As Vetch dives further into the case, he discovers something sinister that Parchman has been hiding.

Green for Danger by Christianna Brand

It’s WWII, and German rockets are raining down on the English countryside. Dr. Barnes’s latest patient is a postman with a broken leg, but as the general anesthesia sets, the patient dies in minutes. Dr. Barnes has a history of losing patients, so he’s devastated when the coroner calls for an inquest. But Scotland Yard Detective Inspector Cockrill insists – this was no accident, and he must find the murderer before he or she kills again.

The Chinese Shawl by Patricia Wentworth

Laura Fane has never been allowed to meet her glamorous, famous relative, Tanis Lyle, because of a family feud, but she knows all about the motion picture star – from her electric charm to the effect she has on men. When Tanis turns up dead, Investigator Miss Maud Silver is assigned to the case and she begins the hunt for a killer.


The Iron Gates by Margaret Millar

From the outside, it seemed like Lucille Morrow had it all – the looks, the house and the husband. But when a mysterious package arrives, setting Lucille in a downward spiral, she checked herself into an asylum. Inspector Sands is on the case, one with a darkness for which he is ill-prepared.

*Disclosure: The links above are affiliate links. These picks are editorially selected, but if you purchase, She Reads may get something in return. We are a participant in the Bookshop Affiliate Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Bookshop.org while simultaneously supporting local bookstores. 

Alison Luther

Alison Luther is a freelance editor and writer based in Fredericksburg, TX, where she lives with her husband and two children. Her background is in digital consumer content and marketing strategies, but today she focuses on small business marketing, ghostwriting, and writing about all things books on She Reads. In addition to raising longhorn, chickens, and children, she loves to cook and is a voracious reader.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Looking for a new book to read, huh?

This She Reads-approved book subscription box will keep you reading all year-long.