13 YA books like Children of Blood and Bone

Books like Children of Blood and Bone

Tomi Adeyemi’s high-stakes fantasy series Children of Blood and Bone is a big hit thanks to its amazingly deep world building and unforgettable characters. After reading the first two books in the Legacy of Orïsha Series – and waiting somewhat impatiently for the Children of Blood and Bone movie release date – you may be wondering what to read after Children of Blood and Bone.

Fortunately there are plenty of thrilling YA fantasy books like Children of Blood and Bone inspired by non-European cultures in Africa, the Middle East, Asia, and South and Central America. These YA fantasy books by BIPOC authors are the perfect books to read after Children of Blood and Bone


A Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Roseanne A. Brown

The Solstasia festival and competition is a chance for change for Malik and his sisters. But when one is taken hostage by a vengeful spirit, Malik must kill the crown princess, Karina, in order to rescue his sister by joining the contest. Karina’s mother has been assassinated and Karina is determined to bring her back by offering the beating heart of a king. The only way is to offer her hand in marriage to the contest winner, but love might make it harder than originally planned.


A Song Below Water by Bethany C. Morrow

Tavia is forced to keep her siren heritage quiet which is frustrating with being one of the few Black people – and fewer yet with having magic – who live in Portland. But when a siren murder trial rocks the nation, tensions begin to escalate, and when Tavia accidentally uses her magical voice at a police stop, nothing will be safe anymore.


Forest of Souls by Lori M Lee

Sirscha is determined to make something of her life. After years of training to become the queen’s next royal spy, her plans are derailed when shamans kill her best friend Saengo – before she restores their life. Sirscha is the first soul guide in living memory and is summoned by the Spider King whose realm’s trees are growing wild and untamed. Only Sirscha can calm them to enforce peace between kingdoms. 


Cinderella is Dead by Kalynn Bayron

It’s been 200 years since Cinderella found her prince. Now girls are required to go to the Annual Ball where men choose their wives based on their finery. Those who are not chosen are never heard from again. Sophia would rather marry her best friend Erin than go to the ball. But when Sophia flees from the ball to Cinderella’s mausoleum, she meets Constance, the last descendant of Cinderella and her step-sisters, and the pair decide to take down the king. 


Lobizona by Romina Garber

Manuela is an undocumented immagrant who lives in a small apartment in Miami after running away from her father’s Argentine crime-family. When Manu’s grandmother is attacked, lies are exposed and her mother is arrested by ICE. Manu decides to investigate the only clue of her past – a “Z” emblem – that leads her straight into Argentine folklore of brujas and lobizónes. 


Mirage by Somaiya Daud

In a star system ruled by the brutal Vathek empire, Amani dreams of what life was like before the occupation, writing amazing poetry, and having adventure beyond her isolated moon. But when Amani is kidnapped and taken to the royal palace, she is expected to become a body double for the cruel half-Vathek Princess Maram. As she becomes accustomed to her new life in the palace and her time with the princess’ fiancé, she also must learn how to avoid danger if she ever wants to see her family again.


The Tiger at Midnight by Swati Teerdhala

Esha is an unknown legend as well as the Viper, the rebels’ assassin. She’s determined to avenge what she lost in a royal coup and take down the dangerous General Hotha. Kunal has always been a soldier to uphold the power of King Vardaan, and his uncle, the general, has always kept him from the outside world, no matter how much he wishes to be a part of it. When Esha’s and Kunal’s paths cross, they think they’re the only ones calling the shots. But there are more than just two players in this war.


We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal

Zafira is under the guise of the Hunter, a man who hunts the cursed forest Arz to feed her people. Nasir is the Prince of Death who takes down people who defy his autocratic father, the king. But war is brewing and the Arz is growing. Both Zafira and Nasir are sent on a mission to find a lost artifact that could stop the Arz and bring back magic – but will they continue to fight each other or team up?


Nocturna by Maya Motayne

Finn uses magic to protect herself on the streets, and being a faceshifter helps her get away from many situations. But when she is captured by a powerful mobster, she is given an ultimatum: steal a legendary treasure from the Castallan palace or have her magic stripped from her. Prince Alfehr is now first in line for the throne after the death of his older brother. He is determined to bring him back by dabbling in forbidden magic. But when Finn and Alfie’s fates collide, they release a magic that they will have to contain.


A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

Eva is a princess with a dark magic that hasn’t been seen in generations. Its last practitioner killed thousands and toppled her ruling sister, creating the Rival Heir tradition. Now Eva must face her older sister Isa in a battle of death for the Ivory Throne. But when Eva is attacked by an assassin, she realizes there are more than just her sister who wants her dead. Eva must ultimately choose between her beloved sister’s death or her own. 


Dread Nation by Justina Ireland

Jane McKeene was born two days before the dead rose from the dead and derailed America and the War Between the States. Now laws like the Native and Negro Reeducation Act require certain children to learn combat to put down the dead. Jane is studying to become an Attendant to protect the well-to-do. It’s a chance for a better life for Negro girls like Jane, even if she is the daughter of a wealthy white Southern woman. But Jane’s not interested in that life and plans to return home to Kentucky after graduating from her school in Baltimore. But when families start to go missing, it’s up to Jane to fight for other’s lives – and her own.


An Ember in The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

In the brutal world of the Martial Empire, Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. But when he is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to decide to help the rebels save her brother by spying at the elite military academy. There Laia meets Elias, the school’s top soldier who wants nothing more than to be free of the tyranny he has to enforce. As they team up together, they just might be able to change the course of the Empire. 


The Candle And The Flame by Nafiza Azad

Fatima live in the city of Noor, a town on the Silk Road where Shayateen djinn had recently slaughtered its entire population – except Fatima and two other humans. Now the city is protected by the Ifrit, djinn of order and reason, but when one of the most potent of the Ifrit dies, Fatima is changed in unexpected ways and enters a new magical and dangerous world.


*Disclosure: The links above are affiliate links. These picks are editorially selected, but if you purchase, She Reads may get something in return. We are a participant in the Bookshop Affiliate Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Bookshop.org while simultaneously supporting local bookstores. We suggest supporting your local bookstore or one of these black-owned bookstores

Marena Galluccio

Marena Galluccio is a freelance copywriter and journalist and lover of all things YA. She reviews fantasy, historical fiction, and historical fantasy YA books on her website’s blog, #MediaGalReads. When she is not writing creatively, Marena can be found planning her next trip to a Disney park, watching the latest movie in theatres, or visiting a history museum. She is currently based in Georgia.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Looking for a new book to read, huh?

This She Reads-approved book subscription box will keep you reading all year-long.