8 Books that are the next Gone Girl

8 books that are the next gone girl

photo by Debby Wong via shutterstock

From topping the New York Times bestseller list to becoming a box office hit, it is clear that audiences everywhere were entranced by Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl. If you are still longing for twisted endings and dark themes, here are five books like Gone Girl to feed your addiction.

Dead Girl Running by Christina Dodd

Kellen Adams just wants to escape her former life and the year she can’t remember so when she gets the chance to start a new life at a remote resort in the Pacific Northwest, she takes it. But when innocent people start showing up dead around her oasis, she’ll find that she can’t trust anyone around her, not even herself.

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

In this suspenseful thriller, two sisters disappear only to have one return three years later with an unbelievable story of a mysterious island and a deranged couple. This dual-perspective novel is filled with twists and turns you won’t see coming.

Lie to Me by J.T. Ellison

Lie to Me by J.T. Ellison

Ellison’s female lead seems to have taken a page out of Amy Dunne’s book in Lie to Me. When Sutton runs away from her seemingly idyllic life, everyone must deal with the repercussions and the answer to the question: where did Sutton really go?

The Last Lost Girl by Maria Hoey

The Last Lost Girl by Maria Hoey

Thirty-seven years after the disappearance of her sister, Jacqueline returns to the town where she grew up, ready to face the dark secrets and astonishing truth behind her sister’s departure. Will she be willing to face what she finds or leave any hope of finding Lilly in the past.

watch me disappear by janelle brown

Watch Me Disappear by Janelle Brown

When one woman goes missing on a hike, her family must learn to continue their lives without her—until her daughter starts having strange visions about the possibility that she may still be alive. The two must come to terms with the truth about the woman they thought they knew in this New York Times bestseller.

Too Close to Breathe by Olivia Kiernan 

A woman is murdered in a quiet Dublin suburb and staged to look like a suicide. Detective Frankie Sheehan is nervous to investigate as her last homicide investigation almost claimed her life. She comes up with more questions than answers as she digs deeper into the dead woman’s life. When another woman is killed in a similar way, Frankie knows she is working against the clock to keep the killer from claiming another victim.

unraveling oliver by liz nugent

Unraveling Oliver by Liz Nugent

Everyone thinks they know Oliver and the delightful relationship he has with his wife, Alice. When one surprising blow puts his devoted partner into a coma, the world around Oliver begins to crumble as the truth about the man he really is starts to reveal itself.

The French Girl by Lexie Elliot

The French Girl by Lexie Elliott

Six college friends were determined to make their summer in a French farmhouse the best time of their lives… until they met outsider, Severine. The unwelcome girl caused trouble among the friends that Kate would never forgive her for. Years later when Severine’s body is found, the friends will be questioned for their involvement, ruining everything they have worked for and bringing up a startling truth no one was prepared for.

You by Caroline Kepnes

Coming soon to Lifetime as a drama series starring Penn Badgley, Caroline Kepnes’s You is a terrifying story about affection for someone gone wrong. When Joe Goldberg meets Guinevere Beck in the bookstore he works in, he can’t help but immediately fall in love with her. As he begins to take control of her life, he’ll make sure that she has no choice but to end up with him. A murderous and endearing stalker, Joe is the villain readers love and You is the suspenseful story you won’t be able to put down.

Ashley Johnson

Lead Editor

Ashley has always been a writer at heart, receiving a diary from her mother at a very young age. Supportive book-buying parents influenced her love of literature and storytelling as she grew up. Her love for songwriting led the way to creating short stories and the start of her own blog where she documented her life as a college student. A fan of dark plot lines, Ashley picked up Stephen King’s It and never looked back. When she is not working on her first novel or new story ideas, Ashley can be found curled up with her rescue chihuahuas or exploring breathtaking locations throughout the US.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading this winter break!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.