4 Books like The Politician

books like the politician

Netflix’s original hit The Politician is in a league of its own with complex characters, a unique plotline and plenty of surprising moments. If you can’t get enough of this new show, here are four books that will carry on the politician feels after you binge through season one.

Charlotte Walsh Likes to Win by Jo Piazza

Charlotte Walsh Likes to Win centers around Senate candidate Charlotte Walsh and her run for office. When Walsh moves her family to a small town and decides to run for Senate, she doesn’t realize the lengths her opponent will take to win. Throughout the process, she realizes how dirty and scandalous politics can be and will have to figure out just how badly she really wants the job. This is currently one of the most relevant reads as it showcases what it takes for a woman to be in the spotlight.


From the Corner of the Oval: A Memoir by Beck Dorey-Stein

The Devil Wears Prada meets The West Wing in this hilarious and touching memoir of Obama’s stenographer. Not only does the reader get an inside look at the White House but the book also recounts a coming-of-age tale that occurred during one of the most inspirational presidencies in history.


The Hopefuls by Jennifer Close

Young couple Beth and Matt make their way to DC with political big dreams in The Hopefuls. Beth soon realizes politics involve much more than she thought and her relationships are tested as jealousy and competition become key ingredients in their lives. Can the two survive the drama?


Election by Tom Perrotta

A dark spin on a high school election for student body president. A teacher who thinks he is doing the right thing by encouraging students to run stirs up trouble and secrets among classmates.

(Feature image courtesy of Netflix; designed by She Reads)

*Disclosure: The links above are affiliate links. These picks are editorially selected, but if you purchase, She Reads may get something in return. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. 

Courtney Marzilli

Bliss, Beauty and Books was founded in 2010 by Courtney Marzilli. Marzilli is a biblophile and beauty junkie. She has combined her love of both books and beauty and created a blog to share both with her adoring fans. As a freelance makeup artist and an avid reader, she is able to marry the two together in a unique way. On Bliss, Beauty and Books, readers will find must-have beauty products and everyday beauty tips along with straight-forward reviews of up-and-coming must- read books as well as interviews with best-selling authors. Marzilli has her finger on the pulse working closely with publicists to make sure her readers hear about AH-mazing books. Her unique features of “What’s in my Bookish {Beauty} Bag?” and “Open Book” allow readers to get to know their favorite authors in a fun and fabulous way!

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.