Books like Big Little Lies

books like big little lies

What’s not to love about Liane Moriarty’s New York Times bestseller Big Little Lies? With plenty of dark secrets, successful women and small-town drama, it is easy to see why this novel has become a favorite on bookshelves across the globe. Once you’re caught up on the HBO series, these books like Big Little Lies are a great addition to your #TBR pile.

Barbarians at the PTA by Stephanie Newman

This books is Big Little Lies meets Desperate Housewives meets Mean Girlswith a great dose of reality. Newman’s book deals with cliques, cyber-bullying and snobs in a wealthy NYC suburb. Psychologist Victoria Bryant moves her practice and her 10-year-old daughter to an idyllic suburb in search of a fresh start. When her daughter becomes the victim of both face-to-face bullying and cyberbullying, Victoria must get to the bottom of what’s happening to protect her daughter. Her discovery causes her to question her relationships with her daughter, new beau and the other moms on the PTA.


It’s Always the Husband by Michele Campbell

Three women with a complicated bond must find compassion for each other in order to uncover the truth when one of them dies under strange circumstances. As secrets are revealed, suspicions about the husband begin to dissolve and the devious women are looked at more closely.


Before the Fall by Noah Hawley

When a private jet crashes into the ocean, only two people survive, marking the accident a tragedy – but is it? With a new promise of fame and money to the survivors, the possibility of sabotage and a sinister plan is at the heart of this novel.


Pretty Guilty Women by Gina LaManna

When Ginger, Kate, Emily and Lulu attend a friend’s wedding, it’s only a matter of time before something goes horribly wrong. When a man shows up dead, the four women all confess to the murder, leaving everyone around them to question why they would all admit to committing the same crime. This suspenseful new release will remind you of your favorite Monterey ladies.


Gridley Girls by Meredith First

In order to move on with their lives, three women must face the dark secrets of their past. Now back together for Anne’s wedding, betrayals from high school are brought to the surface as the childhood friends find a way to make it past teenage heartbreak.


Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

A family full of secrets and expectations is thrown into chaos when the favorite child’s body is found in a nearby lake. Throwing all caution to the wind, each family member takes strides to get justice for Lydia, unknowingly causing the tightly-wound family to succumb to their possible demise.


The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

On a plush cruise in the North Sea, everything seems exquisite until dark skies roll in and Lo is thrown into the middle of things when she witnesses a woman being thrown off the ship. When everyone on the cruise goes on with their trip like nothing has happened, Lo must be the one to ask the tough questions.


Lost You by Haylen Beck

Having previously been down on her luck, single mother Libby has finally caught a break and is taking a vacation with her young son, Ethan. But when Ethan walks into an elevator by himself and gets taken by a stranger, Libby is suddenly desperate to get her son back. Through the search, Libby learns that Ethan has been seen with a woman who identifies herself as the boy’s mother. As the story unfolds, readers are forced to ask who the real mother is and what lengths these women will go to in order to claim Ethan as their own?


Appetite by Sheila Grinell

When Jenn returns home from a year in India her parents are surprised to find she brought a guru home with her. More surprising still is that she intends to marry him. Will Jenn find the support she craves or will she have to reevaluate her values? Will her parents convince her that marrying her intended would be a huge mistake before it’s too late?


Let Me Lie by Clare Mackintosh

After both of her parents commit suicide, Anna is left to contemplate why they made the fateful decision. Now a mother herself, she can’t help but begin looking into the dark secrets her parents were keeping and as she gets closer to the truth, she’ll find that someone out there doesn’t want her to know all the details.


Other People’s Houses by Abbi Waxman

Frances Bloom knows everyone’s dirty laundry whether she likes it or not. Being a carpool mom for years has exposed her to the secrets of the other mothers around her and as she watches the lives of the other carpool families, she vows to never be a part of the drama. But when the truth about a shocking affair comes to light, Frances will find that she has no choice but to get involved.

(Feature image courtesy of My Domaine)

She Reads Editors

The She Reads Editors are always scouting the best books for all your #TBR piles. We’re offering up our favorite books, from classics to debuts, bestselling to the next big thing. Read along with us on social, too!

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Looking for a new book to read, huh?

This She Reads-approved book subscription box will keep you reading all year-long.