Book-to-screen: Dare Me by Megan Abbott

dare me by megan abbott adaptation

Megan Abbott is one of our favorite suspense writers with a multitude of bestselling novels under her belt so it was no surprise that a network brought her genius writing to life on the screen. Good news came for Megan Abbott fans when it was announced her book Dare Me was optioned by USA Network.

NY Daily News

The official statement released about Dare Me states: “The series dives into the cutthroat world of competitive high school cheerleading. It follows the fraught relationship between two best friends after a new coach arrives to bring their team to prominence. While the girls’ friendship is put to the test, their young lives are changed forever when a shocking crime rocks their quiet rust belt town. Part coming-of-age story, part sport drama, part murder mystery, Dare Me exposes the physical and psychological extremes that some young women are willing to endure in order to get ahead.”

Starring Herizen Guardiola, Marlo Kelly and Willa Fitzgerald, Dare Me is perfect for fans of Big Little Lies, Pretty Little Liars and Thirteen Reasons Why. Check out the thrilling trailer below and tune into the season premiere on December 29 on USA Network.

Want more Megan Abbott? Check out the books she loves.

(Feature image courtesy of @rachels_reads_)

She Reads Editors

The She Reads Editors are always scouting the best books for all your #TBR piles. We’re offering up our favorite books, from classics to debuts, bestselling to the next big thing. Read along with us on social, too!

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading with fierce female heroines!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.