What our favorite authors can’t wait to read in 2019

As book lovers we go crazy over authors, meet and greets, and book signings. We freak out like gossip junkies do for Hollywood celebrities. This is why I’m so excited to feature a few of my favorite authors and what they plan to read in 2019! Let me just say, this list is epic and all of these books are on my list for next year’s reading.

R.O. Kwon

Author of 2018’s, thought-provoking literary fiction novel, The Incendiaries.

The Collected Schizophrenias: Essays by Esmé Weijun Wang

A collection of essays with mental and chronic illness as the central theme.


Mouthful of Birds by Samanta Schweblin

A collection of stories described as disturbing, surreal, and original… and that’s all I need to know. Plus the cover is gorgeous!


Long Live the Tribe of Fatherless Girls: A Memoir by T. Kira Madden

Long Live the Tribe of Fatherless Girls is a coming-of-age memoir about a queer, biracial teenager. Looks amazing.


J.T. Ellison

Writer of fantastic thrillers such as Lie to Me and Tear Me Apart (and a She Reads guest editor). I love her style and breezed right through both of her most recent books.

The Stranger Inside by Laura Benedict

A stranger taking over your house sounds like a chilling, terrifying nightmare.


Southern Lady Code: Essays by Helen Ellis

A must-have collection of essays that look darkly hilarious and highly entertaining.


I Miss You When I Blink: Essays by Mary Laura Philpott

A memoir-in-essays from a smart and clever writer. And that beautiful cover!


Robyn Harding

Harding’s Her Pretty Face was one of my favorite books of 2018 and I am counting the days until her upcoming thriller, The Arrangement, is released in August of 2019.

You Owe Me a Murder by Eileen Cook

A teen thriller with a modern twist of Patricia Highsmith’s Strangers on a Train.


The Favorite Daughter by Kaira Rouda

Harding states this is “mommy-in-hell fun.” It looks oh-so-good!


Her Secret Son by Hannah Mary McKinnon

Dark secrets and a family on the edge of disaster… sounds amazing.


We All Fall Down by Daniel Kalla

A suspenseful thriller about the return of the black plague.


Elise Hooper

The Other Alcott is an absolutely wonderful work of historical fiction and I am even more excited to read her upcoming novel, Learning to See.

In Another Time by Jillian Cantor

A historical fiction novel set in World War II about love and survival.


Lost Roses by Martha Hall Kelly

From the gifted author of Lilac Girls, comes the story of Caroline Ferriday. Inspired by true events.


Daughter of Moloka’i by Alan Brennert

The sequel to the beloved, brilliant novel, Moloka’i. I agree with Elisa Hooper that this is definitely a most anticipated book of 2019.


The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden

The stunning conclusion to the magical Winternight trilogy.


The Witches are Coming by Lindy West

From New York Times columnist and bestselling author of her memoir, Shrill, comes a hilarious, enlightening essay collection.


Kaira Rouda

Best Day Ever was a book I devoured so I cannot wait to read Rouda’s The Favorite Daughter in 2019.

An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

From the dynamic writing duo of The Wife Between Us comes a new psychological suspense that I am 100% here for.


Beautiful Bad by Annie Ward

A riveting, twisty thriller about a husband and wife and a murder that no one saw coming.


The Suspect by Fiona Barton

From the bestselling author of The Widow and The Child comes a new psychological suspense novel about a parent’s worst nightmare.


Crystal Hana Kim

If You Leave Me not only has the most beautiful cover, but the book is stunning as well.

American Spy by Lauren Wilkinson

A highly anticipated debut spy thriller, set in the Cold War with an intelligent black female protagonist. Yes, please!


Miracle Creek by Angie Kim

A twisty, taut courtroom drama for fans of Celeste Ng and Liane Moriarty.


American Pop by Snowden Wright

The story of family fortune combined with Southern gothic fun.


Nicole Baart

I absolutely loved Little Broken Things so I cannot wait to read Nicole Baart’s upcoming You Were Always Mine!

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

We all know we want to read this book. And production has already started on an Amazon original miniseries from producer Reese Witherspoon. Need I say more?


The Line Between by Tosca Lee

A riveting thriller set in Alaska, where an extinct disease re-emerges causing madness in its victims.


The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray

A poetic and stunning debut about mothers and daughters, identity and relationships.


On the Come Up by Angie Thomas

A follow-up to the dazzling book The Hate U Give. And it’s already an Amazon #1 bestseller!


Girls Like Us by Christina Alger

From the incredible author of The Banker’s Wife comes another thriller you won’t want to miss!

Janelle Janson

I have a deep passion for books. I love reading them, admiring their beautiful covers, and learning about their authors. I have been obsessed with reading since I was a little girl because it fed my ever growing imagination. In addition to books, I love learning about different cultures, food, traveling, and am obsessed with maps. I love all animals, but especially cats and elephants. I have lived in Northern California my entire life and enjoy how close I am to everything, whether it be the ocean, the mountains, or all that’s in between. I’m married to a loving husband who is the most caring person I know. It is a dream of mine to one day own a bookstore in the historic area of my hometown. I would love to feature book and beer pairings, possibly with a local brewery or a coffee shop next door.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Believe in your shelfie!

Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.

When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Part of the SparkPoint Studio Family

Believe in your Shelfie!
Sign up for the latest book news and fun ways to win free books.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Girl, your #TBR pile is STACKED.

Find out what she's reading this winter break!
  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we’ll email you weekly book recommendations, news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.