Jane Harper is a master at writing books that shock and awe her readers. If you enjoy gripping suspense novels like The Lost Man and The Dry, we think you’ll love these titles too.

Pray for the Girl by Joseph Souza

Lucy Abbott has returned home to Maine after serving time in Afghanistan. She strives to adjust back to her normal life, but painful memories of her past flood her conscience when the body of a 15-year-old Muslim girl is found murdered beside her hometown river bank. The false smiles and hostility of the people in her town concern Lucy, and when news of another murder in the area surfaces, she faces a truth more unexpected and inhuman than she ever imagined. This twisty novel is the perfect read for fans of bestselling author Jane Harper.


The Lost Girls of Paris by Pam Jenoff

Grand Central Station, 1946. Grace Healey finds an abandoned suitcase with a dozen photographs inside – each of a different woman. Out of curiosity, Grace takes the photographs with her, and thus begins to unravel a captivating mystery. She discovers that the suitcase belonged to a woman in charge of female secret agents during WWII. Twelve of these women were sent to Occupied Europe as undercover messengers and radio operators but never returned home. Grace sets out to discover the mystery of their fates in this story of danger, betrayal and great bravery.


Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Who is the “Marsh Girl?” She is a gracious and perceptive girl who has lived for years alone in the marshes, learning from and celebrating nature. But she desires to be loved. When two young men notice the wild beauty of Kya, the “Marsh Girl,” the inconceivable happens. Handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, and the locals accuse Kya. Where the Crawdads Sing is a bestselling tale of new life, heartbreak and surprising darkness.


The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

A suspenseful story about a young couple and their seemingly friendly neighbors begins to unravel at a dinner party. Anne and Marco Conti appear to have everything – a strong relationship, a gorgeous home, a baby girl. But when they are at a dinner party at their neighbors, an awful crime is committed. As Detective Rasbach digs deep into what happened, family secrets surface that will keep you enraptured until the final shocking twist.


Girl in the Blue Coat by Monica Hesse

Hanneke works in the black market delivering goods to paying customers. She lives in Amsterdam in 1946, a time and place where tragedy and danger has struck. On one of her routine deliveries, an older woman asks her to find a Jewish teenage boy she had been hiding in a secret room who had vanished. As Hanneke untangles the mystery of his dissapearance, her eyes are opened to the reality of the Nazi perpetrators and the core of the resistance, compelling her to take action. Carefully researched and plotted, Girl in the Blue Coat is a novel about courage and love in devastating times.


The Stranger Beside Me by Ann Rule

Before Ann Rule was a #1 New York Times bestselling author, she was the co-worker of a serial killer. In the 1970s, Rule worked at a Seattle crisis hotline with Ted Bundy. In The Stranger Beside Me, she gives us a detailed account of her time working with Bundy and the devastating realization that he was a killer. As a certified instructor for police training seminars, prosecutors and forensic science organizations, Rule gives a unique angle on how this man deceived so many, including herself.

This post is sponsored by Kensington Books Corp.